The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 28, 2007, 12:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,729
Ok,

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wrote:

"This is an uncaught third strike. The batter can advance to first base at his own risk. Your friend is correct."

Site a rules interpretation . . . anything at all that says:

If a batter can hit the bouncing pitch for a home run . . . why would the simple fact that the pitch bounced before foul tipped . . . that it would not be a caught (and actually a foul tip) for a strike.

Your friend is WRONG. And so is Mark.

I am waiting . . . we have done this at least three times in the last year.

MTD is referring to an old "pseudo" ruling from Roder. And he is wrong.

Evans has made it clear and Roder now agrees.

RODER in one interp said it could not be caught for a foul tip.

Evans retorted that if the pitch can be hit for a home run how could anyone say it is not a "foul tip" and Roder folded . . . to Roder's credit: he talked with the entire MLB staff and they all agreed it would be a foul tip!

Additional comment:

When are the "hands part of the bat?"

We've been there before also . . .

Regards,

PS: If it hits the ground we refer to the original definition of a foul ball.

Last edited by Tim C; Wed Feb 28, 2007 at 12:29am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 28, 2007, 01:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,643
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim C
Evans retorted that if the pitch can be hit for a home run how could anyone say it is not a "foul tip" and Roder folded . . . to Roder's credit: he talked with the entire MLB staff and they all agreed it would be a foul tip!
If there are two strikes and the batter swings and misses at the bounced pitch he becomes a runner and can advance to first base. Now let's say that the batter does better than missing the pitch, this time he tips it to the catcher. Now this is a foul tip and he is out.

In the first play the batter did not contact the ball and he was not out. In the second play the batter did a better job at making contact with the ball but he is called out. Isn't that penalizing the batter for hitting the ball?

I'm not saying that Roder's old way of calling this is correct, I'm just giving some input to the situation.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 28, 2007, 01:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by LDUB
If there are two strikes and the batter swings and misses at the bounced pitch he becomes a runner and can advance to first base. Now let's say that the batter does better than missing the pitch, this time he tips it to the catcher. Now this is a foul tip and he is out.

In the first play the batter did not contact the ball and he was not out. In the second play the batter did a better job at making contact with the ball but he is called out. Isn't that penalizing the batter for hitting the ball?

I'm not saying that Roder's old way of calling this is correct, I'm just giving some input to the situation.
Let's say that the pitch doesn't hit the ground...in fact it's down the middle, at the belt. The batter swings and misses, but F2 can't handle the ball. The batter runs and makes it to 1B. The next batter, same pitch location, foul tips it to F2. The batter is out. Do you think that's penalizing the batter for hitting the ball?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 28, 2007, 08:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,577
Quote:
Originally Posted by LDUB
Isn't that penalizing the batter for hitting the ball?
Since neither batter should be swinging at pitches in the dirt, I'd say the first batter got away with one.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 28, 2007, 10:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 47
Foul Tip

According to the 2007 NFHS Baseball Rule book, Rule 2-16-2:

"A foul tip is a batted ball that goes directly to the catchers hands and is legally caught by any fielder. It shall be called a strike and the ball is in play."

SanDiegoSteve, help me out, in this situation it's a caught thrid strike foul tip, batter is out, thus the third out?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 02, 2007, 01:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Jerry City, Ohio
Posts: 394
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle George
According to the 2007 NFHS Baseball Rule book, Rule 2-16-2:

"A foul tip is a batted ball that goes directly to the catchers hands and is legally caught by any fielder. It shall be called a strike and the ball is in play."

SanDiegoSteve, help me out, in this situation it's a caught thrid strike foul tip, batter is out, thus the third out?
All those who said the answer is a foul tip are correct. More importantly I do not care what Roder, Evans, or any other person has to say unless he can back up his argument with a rules citation.

Tim C wanted rules citations and that is what matters most. There are several rules with pertinent information to getting the right interp.

NF 2-16-2: Foul tip (see above citation by Uncle George)

NF 2-6-1: Batted ball (thrown ball). A batted ball or thrown ball is in flight until it has touched the ground or some object other than a fielder.

NF 2-9-1: Catch: A catch is the act of a fielder in getting secure possession in his hand or glove of a live ball in flight and firmly holding it.

Answers: When pitcher throws ball in the dirt and batter with 2 strikes
swings and misses he may run to first. That is because a live thrown ball has touched the ground and therefore does not meet the definition a catch. It is an uncaught 3rd strike.

When pitcher throws the ball and it hits ground and then batter hits it, we now have a live batted ball in flight. If it is a line drive to 1B and caught in flight the batter is out. If it is a pop fly to RF (fair or foul) and caught in flight then the batter is out. It the ball goes from the bat directly to catchers hand and then caught in flight by any fielder the batter is out because this meets the definition of foul tip.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 02, 2007, 01:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool Follow-up

Daryl,

Thanks for the cogent exegesis.

Since we appear to be talking FED here, I was wondering if you could clear something up for me.

Let's say...

There's a runner on 1B (R1). As the pitcher commits to deliver, the R1 takes off for 2B.

The batter takes a mighty swing at the pitch and barely nicks it. The ball goes sharp and direct to the catcher's mitt and, as he is gaining secure control, the R1 (legally) slides into 2B, as the umpire calls "Foul!"

What do you do? ...

As,

A. The Plate Umpire
B. The Base Umpire
C. The Offensive Manager
D. The Defensive Manager

I'll admit this is kind of a trick question, because I didn't really say what role you were playing in this scenario. And what you would or might do could depend on who did what first.

Regardless, I would be interested in your answer.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 02, 2007, 11:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,772
Talking always one in the bunch ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachJM
Daryl,

Thanks for the cogent exegesis.

Since we appear to be talking FED here, I was wondering if you could clear something up for me.

Let's say...

There's a runner on 1B (R1). As the pitcher commits to deliver, the R1 takes off for 2B.

The batter takes a mighty swing at the pitch and barely nicks it. The ball goes sharp and direct to the catcher's mitt and, as he is gaining secure control, the R1 (legally) slides into 2B, as the umpire calls "Foul!"

What do you do? ...

As,

A. The Plate Umpire
B. The Base Umpire
C. The Offensive Manager
D. The Defensive Manager

I'll admit this is kind of a trick question, because I didn't really say what role you were playing in this scenario. And what you would or might do could depend on who did what first.

Regardless, I would be interested in your answer.

JM
Ah the tricky mind.

A. Lets see as PU - it won't happen

B. as BU - let PU make the decision - its his call. (probably throw out the assistant coach as head coach is arguing with PU)

C. The Offensive Manager - probably going to get thrown out for arguing a crazy rule.

D. The Defensive Manager - glad that' he's gotten away with the call.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 02, 2007, 12:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Jerry City, Ohio
Posts: 394
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachJM
Daryl,

Thanks for the cogent exegesis.

Since we appear to be talking FED here, I was wondering if you could clear something up for me.

Let's say...

There's a runner on 1B (R1). As the pitcher commits to deliver, the R1 takes off for 2B.

The batter takes a mighty swing at the pitch and barely nicks it. The ball goes sharp and direct to the catcher's mitt and, as he is gaining secure control, the R1 (legally) slides into 2B, as the umpire calls "Foul!"

What do you do? ...

As,

A. The Plate Umpire
B. The Base Umpire
C. The Offensive Manager
D. The Defensive Manager

I'll admit this is kind of a trick question, because I didn't really say what role you were playing in this scenario. And what you would or might do could depend on who did what first.

Regardless, I would be interested in your answer.

JM
First lets apply the proper rules as to what should happen.

2-16-1e Foul: A foul ball is a batted ball that touches the ground after being inadvertantly being declared foul by the umpire.

Therefore, by rule, since the ball never touched the ground even though the umpire declared it foul, the ball remains live and a strike is charged to the batter and R1 remains on 2B.

As PU: I know the rule so I will not do this. But if I inadvertantly said foul and then realized my error (either on my own or brought to my attention by partner or either coach) I would call time. I would bring both coaches together and admit my mistake and correct the situation by rule.

If it was my partner who called foul I would call time and confer with him alone. Depending on how experienced he was my words would be a gentle reminder of his role in the situation as BU or a rather silent scolding to keep his mouth shut. (Either way my body language and volume of my voice is such that I do not embarrass my partner. It will look like a normal conference). Then I would bring both coaches together and correct the play.

Apply the same if I was base umpire.

As for coaches, even if I had made a mistake I do not let coaches charge the mound or argue vociferously. I let them know at pregame they can come out and ask and I will listen to them. It has worked for 25 years with only 2 ejections.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 02, 2007, 01:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daryl H. Long
All those who said the answer is a foul tip are correct. More importantly I do not care what Roder, Evans, or any other person has to say unless he can back up his argument with a rules citation.

Tim C wanted rules citations and that is what matters most. There are several rules with pertinent information to getting the right interp.

NF 2-16-2: Foul tip (see above citation by Uncle George)

NF 2-6-1: Batted ball (thrown ball). A batted ball or thrown ball is in flight until it has touched the ground or some object other than a fielder.

NF 2-9-1: Catch: A catch is the act of a fielder in getting secure possession in his hand or glove of a live ball in flight and firmly holding it.

Answers: When pitcher throws ball in the dirt and batter with 2 strikes
swings and misses he may run to first. That is because a live thrown ball has touched the ground and therefore does not meet the definition a catch. It is an uncaught 3rd strike.

When pitcher throws the ball and it hits ground and then batter hits it, we now have a live batted ball in flight. If it is a line drive to 1B and caught in flight the batter is out. If it is a pop fly to RF (fair or foul) and caught in flight then the batter is out. It the ball goes from the bat directly to catchers hand and then caught in flight by any fielder the batter is out because this meets the definition of foul tip.
I think you misinterpreted Tim's post. He had the correct answer. His reference to a rules citation was in regards to the ability of anyone having one that would disprove his answer, not confirm it.
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 02, 2007, 11:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Jerry City, Ohio
Posts: 394
Quote:
Originally Posted by GarthB
I think you misinterpreted Tim's post. He had the correct answer. His reference to a rules citation was in regards to the ability of anyone having one that would disprove his answer, not confirm it.
I did not misinterpret anything.

Tim absolutely had the right answer.

But, why is it OK for Tim (or anyone else posting on this board including me) to challenge anyone to cite a rule reference to disprove his answer when he did not cite a rule to confirm his own answer?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 02, 2007, 12:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
[QUOTE]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daryl H. Long
All those who said the answer is a foul tip are correct. More importantly I do not care what Roder, Evans, or any other person has to say unless he can back up his argument with a rules citation.

You are not going to be able to back every single argument with a rules citation. there is also something called "custom and usage"

Example: The batter swings and hits a dribler. Just as he vacates the box the ball hits him. The actual rule would say to call the batter out but custom and usuage tell us otherwise. Generally speaking when a batter gets hit with the ball right around the plate area it's a FOUL ball regardless of what the rule actually states. if the batter has already taken several steps and then gets hit it's a different story.

the "neighborhood play" is also a PRIME example on custom and usage. Even though F4/F6 didn't actually Touch the bag on a play where R1 is out by a good margin. As long as they are in the 'vicinity" they will get what is called the "neigborhood play"

In addition there are many errors in the OBR rule-book. Evans / Roder clean those up for us. Also, for you to say you do not care what Evans / Roder say will not help one in administering and understanding the rules.

Here's another PRIME example as to why Rick / Evans are important.

Appeal Plays. In order to fully understand appeal plays one has to understand what is meant by the terms "Relaxed" vs. "Unrelaxed" action. You will not find those terms in the rule book but they are extremely important when it comes to certain types of appeals meaning Do we have to simply tag the base or do we have to tag the player.

There is a rule book and then there are case plays. OBR doesn't have a case Book ala FED/NCAA but there are supplemental materials such as the PBUC handbook, Rick's Book, Papa C's BRD and Evans which is next to impossible to get. These materials have case plays which explain the rules.

Bottom Line: You can't always take the rules Verbatum. Even if the rules are re-written there will still be questions. It's the nature of baseball.

Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 02, 2007, 02:05am
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle George
SanDiegoSteve, help me out, in this situation it's a caught thrid strike foul tip, batter is out, thus the third out?
You are correct, sir!
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 02, 2007, 08:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 47
Thanks Steve.

George
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 02, 2007, 11:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by LDUB
If there are two strikes and the batter swings and misses at the bounced pitch he becomes a runner and can advance to first base. Now let's say that the batter does better than missing the pitch, this time he tips it to the catcher. Now this is a foul tip and he is out.

In the first play the batter did not contact the ball and he was not out. In the second play the batter did a better job at making contact with the ball but he is called out. Isn't that penalizing the batter for hitting the ball?

I'm not saying that Roder's old way of calling this is correct, I'm just giving some input to the situation.
Not really that confusing at least IMO. When the batter misses the ball it is an uncaught pitch because the ball hit the ground.

Once the batter hits/tips the ball it becomes a batted ball but since the batted ball goes directly to the catchers mitt it makes it a foul tip.

So its not apples to apples with the two situations.

Thanks
David
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intentional foul rule # jritchie Basketball 9 Tue Dec 19, 2006 10:01pm
NCAA Rule Foul by B on Touchdown for A Simbio Football 2 Wed May 17, 2006 05:35pm
New Team Control Foul Rule seneca_rec Basketball 4 Tue Mar 07, 2006 09:17am
Fed rule - foul away from ball on inbound womens_hoops Basketball 24 Sat Mar 12, 2005 02:58am
Rule 7, sec 11, Foul TIp 3rd strike Animal Softball 3 Mon Jun 30, 2003 12:08pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1