The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 26, 2007, 11:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue37
At our local meeting yesterday, the actions of the batter were discussed. One area of disagreement arose. The situation presented was "The batter requests time and steps out of the box with one foot. The umpire does not grant time and the pitcher delivers a legal pitch which is not in the strike zone." Most of the group felt the pitch was a ball since it was not in the strike zone. Some of us felt otherwise, based on 6-2-4d-1. We felt it should be an automatic strike, regardless of location.

My interpretation of that section is summarized as follows: (I could not figure out how to display this as a table.)
Batter’s Action - Pitcher’s Action - Result
1. Steps out with one foot - Stops - Do-Over
2. Steps out with both feet - Stops - Penalty strike for leaving box with both feet.
3. Holds up hand, stays in box - Stops - Do-Over
4. Steps out with one foot - Delivers legal pitch - Automatic strike regardless of location.
5. Steps out with both feet - Delivers legal pitch - Automatic strike regardless of location and penalty strike for leaving box with both feet.
6. Holds up hand, stays in box - Delivers legal pitch - Automatic strike regardless of location.

Am I misreading the rule?
Here's the rule -- notice only 3 examples given

If the pitcher, with a runner on base, stops or hesitates in his delivery because the batter steps out of the box:
(a) With one foot = there is no penalty to either the batter or the pitcher. The umpire shall call “time” and begin play anew. If the pitcher legally delivers the ball, it shall be called a strike and the ball remains alive.
(b) With both feet = a strike shall be called on the batter for violation of 7-3-1 (delaying the game). If the pitcher legally delivers the ball, it shall be called a strike and the ball remains alive. Thus, two strikes are called on the batter.
(c) Holds up his hand to request “Time”, it shall not be a balk. = there is no penalty to either the batter or the pitcher. The umpire shall call “time” and begin play anew. If the pitcher legally delivers the ball, it shall be called a strike and the ball remains alive.

If the umpire judges the batter’s action to be a deliberate attempt to create a balk, he will penalize according to 3-3-1o.

You can use these results to answer all of your questions.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
strike/called 3rd strike calls chuckfan1 Baseball 8 Tue May 11, 2010 12:44pm
Strike or HBP ? CecilOne Softball 4 Mon Jun 26, 2006 08:27pm
Strike or HBP? JRSooner Baseball 9 Tue May 17, 2005 09:05pm
third strike yankeesfan Baseball 3 Fri Apr 29, 2005 09:41pm
It can't be a strike if...... Andy Softball 6 Mon Nov 08, 2004 05:17am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1