The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 26, 2007, 11:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue37
At our local meeting yesterday, the actions of the batter were discussed. One area of disagreement arose. The situation presented was "The batter requests time and steps out of the box with one foot. The umpire does not grant time and the pitcher delivers a legal pitch which is not in the strike zone." Most of the group felt the pitch was a ball since it was not in the strike zone. Some of us felt otherwise, based on 6-2-4d-1. We felt it should be an automatic strike, regardless of location.

My interpretation of that section is summarized as follows: (I could not figure out how to display this as a table.)
Batter’s Action - Pitcher’s Action - Result
1. Steps out with one foot - Stops - Do-Over
2. Steps out with both feet - Stops - Penalty strike for leaving box with both feet.
3. Holds up hand, stays in box - Stops - Do-Over
4. Steps out with one foot - Delivers legal pitch - Automatic strike regardless of location.
5. Steps out with both feet - Delivers legal pitch - Automatic strike regardless of location and penalty strike for leaving box with both feet.
6. Holds up hand, stays in box - Delivers legal pitch - Automatic strike regardless of location.

Am I misreading the rule?
Here's the rule -- notice only 3 examples given

If the pitcher, with a runner on base, stops or hesitates in his delivery because the batter steps out of the box:
(a) With one foot = there is no penalty to either the batter or the pitcher. The umpire shall call “time” and begin play anew. If the pitcher legally delivers the ball, it shall be called a strike and the ball remains alive.
(b) With both feet = a strike shall be called on the batter for violation of 7-3-1 (delaying the game). If the pitcher legally delivers the ball, it shall be called a strike and the ball remains alive. Thus, two strikes are called on the batter.
(c) Holds up his hand to request “Time”, it shall not be a balk. = there is no penalty to either the batter or the pitcher. The umpire shall call “time” and begin play anew. If the pitcher legally delivers the ball, it shall be called a strike and the ball remains alive.

If the umpire judges the batter’s action to be a deliberate attempt to create a balk, he will penalize according to 3-3-1o.

You can use these results to answer all of your questions.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 26, 2007, 12:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 16
Mr. Justme,
I think you should rethink (B).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 26, 2007, 12:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Nothing to rethink.

That is exactly as the rule appears in the FED book.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 26, 2007, 12:47pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Time Ump
Mr. Justme,
I think you should rethink (B).
Why should Justme rethink (B)? That is exactly what the rule says to do. Check Rule 6-2-4d NOTE.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 26, 2007, 02:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern OH
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
Why should Justme rethink (B)? That is exactly what the rule says to do. Check Rule 6-2-4d NOTE.
Because Just me said:
"You can use these results to answer all of your questions."

But his interp does not cover all situations.

If B is deemed an intentional act to cause a balk, then 3-3-1o is to be enforced. He accidentally left that out.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 26, 2007, 03:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Mueller
Because Just me said:
"You can use these results to answer all of your questions."

But his interp does not cover all situations.

If B is deemed an intentional act to cause a balk, then 3-3-1o is to be enforced. He accidentally left that out.
Re-read my post (I included 3-3-1o), re-read the rule book. The rule book does cover the situations in the original post.

3-3-1o is not just applicable to (b). Anytime the umpire judges that the batter's act was intentional to cause a balk he can penalize according to 3-3-1o.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 26, 2007, 03:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern OH
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justme
Re-read my post (I included 3-3-1o), re-read the rule book. The rule book does cover the situations in the original post.

3-3-1o is not just applicable to (b). Anytime the umpire judges that the batter's act was intentional to cause a balk he can penalize according to 3-3-1o.
sorry Just

I just didn't read far enough down your post.

Just like calling a game. When you get in a hurry you look bad and make mistakes.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 26, 2007, 10:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 16
I apologize. My comment about 'Rethinking point B' was prompted by more than 40 years of organized baseball. I forget that we are dealing here with other levels. The difficulty in applying B as expressed is that it is often not a black/white situation. One example, the pitcher is in his stretch looking toward second. When he comes around he sees tha batter has stepped out of the box and the catcher and PU are in their normal positions. He is annoyed and fires the pitch at the batter's left temple. (Happened in a game between Bayamon and Ponce). The PU was saved from a decision because the riot ended the contest. In the locker room he said he was going to call the pitch 'legal' and a strike because of 'delay of game'; and then warn the manager and the pitcher. Is that what would happen in High School and college, assuming our lads are too sophisticated to take up arms.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
strike/called 3rd strike calls chuckfan1 Baseball 8 Tue May 11, 2010 12:44pm
Strike or HBP ? CecilOne Softball 4 Mon Jun 26, 2006 08:27pm
Strike or HBP? JRSooner Baseball 9 Tue May 17, 2005 09:05pm
third strike yankeesfan Baseball 3 Fri Apr 29, 2005 09:41pm
It can't be a strike if...... Andy Softball 6 Mon Nov 08, 2004 05:17am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1