The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Jan 09, 2007, 01:12pm
Official Forum Member

Gear for new umpire

Hello all. This will be my first year working baseball games and I am looking for advice on what gear I will need. Since it's my first year, do I need to get everything? Looking at the prices, it will cost me ~ $500 and I'm just out of college, so that's quite a bit .

Anyone have advice on what and where to buy? For the most part, I use Honings for basketball gear.

Thanks for any help!
Old Tue Jan 09, 2007, 01:41pm
Official Forum Member

Everyone helped me out tremendously. I will tell you what they told me. West Vest Platnium, and Gold $130-$160 are THE CP. They convinced me to buy one. Also, everyone says a light mask is best which I agree. I am going to buy a Wilson Dyna-Lite $35-$65. For plate shoes I will be buying Tanel 360 $100. For the leg guards it is preference, but I am going with Gerry Davis Guards,$60. Also, buy some good pants and a shirt. $500 sounds about right. You'll want the best so you dont have to upgrade later. Good luck.
Old Tue Jan 09, 2007, 02:09pm
Official Forum Member

Amazing. The exact same question, exactly one thread apart.
Old Tue Jan 09, 2007, 02:40pm

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjbofficial
Hello all. This will be my first year working baseball games and I am looking for advice on what gear I will need. Since it's my first year, do I need to get everything? Looking at the prices, it will cost me ~ $500 and I'm just out of college, so that's quite a bit .

Anyone have advice on what and where to buy? For the most part, I use Honings for basketball gear.

Thanks for any help!
Read this thread:

equipment help
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Old Tue Jan 09, 2007, 02:56pm
Official Forum Member

500 bucks will get you in the game. It is a big up-front hit, but if you want to play you got to pay!