The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 08, 2007, 01:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,718
Runner overslides awarded 2B base. Not an attempt to advance, but he's still in jeopardy. OUT!! He's only protected to the awarded base.

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 08, 2007, 02:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 145
Rule 8-2-6: A batter-runner who reaches first base safely and then overruns or overslides may immediately return without liability of being put out provided he does not attempt or feint an advance to second. A player who is awarded first base on a base on balls does not have this right.

If the BR is in jeopardy (where he normally would not be) then all other runners should be subject to the same enforcement. R1 is out after he passes 2B and is tagged (1/2” or 3’ ).

Paul
__________________
"If they can get you asking the wrong questions, they don't have to worry about the answers."
Thomas Pynchon
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 08, 2007, 02:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 605
Exact Play

This exact play happened about 5 to 7 years ago to Kerwin Danley in an MLB game. The Yankees were in the field. Ball 4 was called. The runner had taken off on the pitch, his head was down. He slid into second base...and kept going beyond second. Jeter put the tag on him. Danley put his hands up and said (I'm guessing...since there was no audio of him, only of the announcers), "that's ball four." Jeter started to discuss it with Danley, arguing that he went beyond second. Danley quickly realized Jeter was right, and changed his call and banged the runner out.

That out call stood. I have seen this play on video numerous times.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 08, 2007, 02:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Az.Ump
Rule 8-2-6: A batter-runner who reaches first base safely and then overruns or overslides may immediately return without liability of being put out provided he does not attempt or feint an advance to second. A player who is awarded first base on a base on balls does not have this right.

If the BR is in jeopardy (where he normally would not be) then all other runners should be subject to the same enforcement. R1 is out after he passes 2B and is tagged (1/2” or 3’ ).

Paul
I said pretty much this as well, his answer was, "But the runner hasn't touched second, he missed it. He's protected to the base."

I'm now convinced that his ruling is wrong.
__________________
"They can holler at the uniform all they want, but when they start hollering at the man wearing the uniform they're going to be in trouble."- Joe Brinkman
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 08, 2007, 04:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,219
Send a message via AIM to TussAgee11
What we've agreed is that oversliding / overrunning is the same interpretation as missing the bag. Once you go past it (back heel normally), you've attained that base.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 08, 2007, 04:30pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctblu40
"But the runner hasn't touched second, he missed it. He's protected to the base."
He is right on that, he is protected to the base, but not past the base. You could try telling him that, although it appears that that would be a waste of time.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 08, 2007, 06:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
[The clinician] refuses to even discuss his ruling. He has never once said, "Oh, I get it now. I was mistaken."

I suspect we all know the type.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should 2 outs have been awarded ? nickrego Baseball 42 Mon Mar 20, 2006 10:53am
Batter awarded first on third strike rwest Softball 2 Fri Feb 17, 2006 01:33pm
which base awarded on this obstruction? shipwreck Softball 6 Sun Oct 05, 2003 10:02am
What has to happen to be awarded a single base or two bases gary carico Baseball 6 Thu Mar 06, 2003 03:12pm
Awarded bases - hit by pitch Blue316 Baseball 8 Thu Apr 18, 2002 08:28am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1