![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
I don't get it. I was wondering if this is some sort of new FED rule. He challenged me to find a rule that refutes his interpretation. I can't find one in the FED book, but that doesn't mean he's right, a point I made with him last night.
__________________
"They can holler at the uniform all they want, but when they start hollering at the man wearing the uniform they're going to be in trouble."- Joe Brinkman |
|
|||
|
I can't find a FED reference either, but in OBR, it states that a runner forced to advance without liability to be put out may advance past the base to which he is entitled only at his peril.
To my understanding, if you overslide a base you are entitled to on a live ball award, such as a base on balls or detached equipment, and you get tagged, you are out. I say his overslide is the same as turning and heading for third. He must touch the base to which he is forced to advance as a result of the batter becoming a runner. |
|
|||
|
So an unsuccessful attempt to stop at a base is tantamount to attempting to advance?
So Stoping=Going? Shouldn't this be similar to the liability of the BR at first base on an overrun? We don't treat a player as having touched a missed base in the middle of playing action at that base for appeals purposes; why would we for award purposes? |
|
|||
|
Rule 8-2-6: A batter-runner who reaches first base safely and then overruns or overslides may immediately return without liability of being put out provided he does not attempt or feint an advance to second. A player who is awarded first base on a base on balls does not have this right.
If the BR is in jeopardy (where he normally would not be) then all other runners should be subject to the same enforcement. R1 is out after he passes 2B and is tagged (1/2” or 3’ ).Paul
__________________
"If they can get you asking the wrong questions, they don't have to worry about the answers." Thomas Pynchon |
|
|||
|
Exact Play
This exact play happened about 5 to 7 years ago to Kerwin Danley in an MLB game. The Yankees were in the field. Ball 4 was called. The runner had taken off on the pitch, his head was down. He slid into second base...and kept going beyond second. Jeter put the tag on him. Danley put his hands up and said (I'm guessing...since there was no audio of him, only of the announcers), "that's ball four." Jeter started to discuss it with Danley, arguing that he went beyond second. Danley quickly realized Jeter was right, and changed his call and banged the runner out.
That out call stood. I have seen this play on video numerous times. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I'm now convinced that his ruling is wrong.
__________________
"They can holler at the uniform all they want, but when they start hollering at the man wearing the uniform they're going to be in trouble."- Joe Brinkman |
|
|||
|
Remember this is FED
Quote:
8-2-6; 5.1.4b I haven't found the situation at second yet, but the runner at second is also in danger of being tagged out for overrunning the bag. Thanks David |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Should 2 outs have been awarded ? | nickrego | Baseball | 42 | Mon Mar 20, 2006 10:53am |
| Batter awarded first on third strike | rwest | Softball | 2 | Fri Feb 17, 2006 01:33pm |
| which base awarded on this obstruction? | shipwreck | Softball | 6 | Sun Oct 05, 2003 10:02am |
| What has to happen to be awarded a single base or two bases | gary carico | Baseball | 6 | Thu Mar 06, 2003 03:12pm |
| Awarded bases - hit by pitch | Blue316 | Baseball | 8 | Thu Apr 18, 2002 08:28am |