![]() |
|
|
|||
Delaware,
Here is even more the rulebook: Legal pitching delivery. There are two legal pitching positions, the Windup Position and the Set Position, and either position may be used at any time. Pitchers shall take signs from the catcher while standing on the rubber. Rule 8.01 Comment: Pitchers may disengage the rubber after taking their signs but may not step quickly onto the rubber and pitch. This may be judged a quick pitch by the umpire. When the pitcher disengages the rubber, he must drop his hands to his sides. Pitchers will not be allowed to disengage the rubber after taking each sign. (a) The Windup Position. The pitcher shall stand facing the batter, his pivot foot in contact with the pitcher’s plate and the other foot free. From this position any natural movement associated with his delivery of the ball to the batter commits him to the pitch without interruption or alteration. He shall not raise either foot from the ground, except that in his actual delivery of the ball to the batter, he may take one step backward, and one step forward with his free foot. When a pitcher holds the ball with both hands in front of his body, with his pivot foot in contact with the pitcher’s plate and his other foot free, he will be considered in the Windup Position. Rule 8.01(a) Comment: In the Windup Position, a pitcher is permitted to have his “free” foot on the rubber, in front of the rubber, behind the rubber or off the side of the rubber. From the Windup Position, the pitcher may: (1) deliver the ball to the batter, or (2) step and throw to a base in an attempt to pick-off a runner, or (3) disengage the rubber (if he does he must drop his hand to his sides). In disengaging the rubber the pitcher must step off with his pivot foot and not his free foot first. He may not go into a set or stretch position—if he does it is a balk. I don't know what could be more clear. If the pitcher disengages the rubber he MUST separate his hands other wise it is a balk. Where do you see something other than that? |
|
|||
Quote:
tibear: There are over 200 mistakes in the rulebook. Until we get a major rewrite, he need to consider how the rules are applied by those who own them. The JEA, J/R, the WUA and both pro schools all agree that the intent of the rule is that the pitcher must separate his hands prior to retaking the rubber. Tell me, do you make a runner stay within 3 feet of a direct line bewteen the bases? That's what the rule says, but again, that is not how it is interpreted or enforced. Different posters have given you the correct information. You now have the opportunity to learn something and choose to umpire a basegame as it is intended to be done, or not.
__________________
GB |
|
|||
Interesting on how in this case, I'm getting a hard time for trying to apply the rules as written in the rulebook and in other cases was given a hard time for calling the "spirit" of the rule.
I will let you know that around here, if you disengage the rubber without separating your hands, everyone calls a balk! Everyone may be taught incorrectly but we try to follow the rulebook and in this case, if you are indeed stepping off the rubber the assumption is that you're not trying to "pick-off" the runner so why not enforce the pitcher's hands? Basically isn't a balk called because the defensive team is doing something to deceive the runner and trying to get an unfair advantage? Isn't that why the rulebook says to separate the hands? This is to ensure the pitcher doesn't try something "sneaky" by stepping off and immediately throwing to a base, without dropping his hands to his side. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
2. No. 3. No.
__________________
GB Last edited by GarthB; Wed Nov 22, 2006 at 04:43pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
If you need solid proof that the experienced members of this board are giving you the correct interpretation that this is not a balk, this may help. This is the professional interpretation as written by Rick Roder who is the co-author of the Jaska/Roder Manual. The WUA now referrs all rules questions to Rick for clarification. Pitchers a) must take signs from the catcher while in contact. b) cannot habitually disengage the rubber after taking a sign, c) upon disengaging, must separate their hands. No penalty is mandated or suggested for violation of (a) through (c). Such action is simply prohibited. Tim. |
|
|||
MLB, the entity that hires members of the WUA and the owners of the rules, takes it further by not just saying don't penalize it, but that it is not a balk as long as the hands are separated prior to the pitcher re-taking the rubber.
The confusion is understandable given MLB's seeming inability to get a re-write of the rules done. However, members of the rules committe have committed to get it done, piece-meal, if necessary. One member told Evans that he hope to eventually address all the mistakes that Jim had identified.
__________________
GB |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
|
|||
tibear,
It's great you're getting your nose in the rulebook and trying to understand fully what it says. But, as mentioned before, there are over 200 errors in the MLB rulebook. When posters like bobjenkins and GarthB give you advice, TAKE THE MEDICINE. They know what they're talking about. |
|
|||
Quote:
OBR 8.01 Legal Pitching Delivery 9) In the Windup position, the pitcher’s free foot may be on the rubber, in front of the rubber, behind the rubber, or off to the side of the rubber. Quote:
Tim. |
|
|||
Quote:
The rule is essentially the same. The only change is that the pitcher no longer has to keep his free foot within the 24 inch length of the pitching rubber, which was never enforced anyway. It's never been a balk for placing the free foot behind the rubber while in the windup. Tim. |
|
|||
Well, since everyone here is so ademant that this shouldn't be called a balk, I guess I'm going to have to go back to our local administration and get them to look into it. As I say, around here everyone calls it a balk. I've personally called it only once or twice but other guys call this maybe a dozen times a year.
Its going to be a hard sell because its pretty obvious that the OBR rulebook says the pitcher MUST seperate his hands as he steps off the rubber. |
|
|||
Quote:
Once he steps off with the PIVOT foot, since when do I care what he does with either his other foot OR his hands [as long as he's not simulating a pitching motion]? Bob- help me out here, have I missed a memo or something? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Exactly. The separating his hands thing is a red herring, since the runner is watching the pitcher's pivot foot for his cue (s). The runner doesn't give a fig what the pitcher's hands are doing..... |
|
|||
Quote:
Windup Position: "After the pitcher has placed his pivot foot on the ground clearly behind the plate, he has the right to change to the set position, or throw or feint to a base the same as that of any other fielder." (6-1-2) Set Position: "After the pitcher has placed his pivot foot on the ground clearly behind the plate, he then has the right to throw or feint to a base the same as that of any other fielder." (6-1-3) The only possible interpretation is that he MAY (or may not, logically) throw or feint to a base. He is not required to do this. He can step backwards off the rubber with his pivot foot, and leave his free foot on the rubber, and just stand there like that all he wants.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 Last edited by SanDiegoSteve; Thu Nov 23, 2006 at 08:43pm. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Balk question? | Hobe | Baseball | 7 | Wed Jun 21, 2006 11:30pm |
Balk Question | Xtopher_66 | Baseball | 4 | Fri May 12, 2006 12:33am |
Yet another balk question | harmbu | Baseball | 4 | Tue Aug 30, 2005 10:54am |
To Balk Or Not To Balk, That Is The Question.. | chuckfan1 | Baseball | 21 | Wed Sep 03, 2003 03:21pm |
Balk Question | CDcoach | Baseball | 11 | Fri May 23, 2003 05:16pm |