![]() |
|
|
|||
balk
R1, pitcher balks while delivering the pitch (did not stop), R1 stealing on the pitch. PU immediately calls balk and points at the pitcher. the pitch is high and outside. F2 catches the pitch and then attempts to throw R1 out at 2nd. F2's throw goes into center field. R1 advances safely to 3rd. I know this is a delayed dead ball situation, but should the play be killed once F2 catches the pitch or should the play continue?
I think that if a pitcher balks and then makes a wild pitch or throw the play is allowed to continue and the runner(s) can advance past the awarded base (at their own risk) and the pitch is nullified unless it is ball 4 or strike 3 and BR advances to 1st. I also think I remember an ncaa caseplay where there was R1 and F1 balked on his pick-off throw to first. R1 broke for second. F3 caught the throw from F1 and then attempted to throw the runner out at 2nd. F3's throw sailed into left field and runner advanced to 3rd. in that play, i believe they said that the play should have been killed once F3 caught the pick-off throw and the balk award should be made. any help clarifying the ruling would be appreciated. ncca and pro. i also know that none of this is applicable in FED. balk=dead. thanks. G |
|
|||
![]()
ggk,
It depends on the rule code. Under FED rules, the ball is immediately dead on a balk - so nothing after the balk "happened". Under OBR rules, in your initial sitch (balk, F2 overthrows 2B in his attempt on the stealing R1, r1 ends up safe at 3B) the ball NEVER became dead as a result of the balk. Since the only runner advanced one base safely on the continuous action of the play immediately following the balk, the balk is disregarded - as if it never happened. I believe that the issue that some posters on this forum have with the concept of "delayed dead" under OBR is that, in some cases, the ball NEVER becomes dead as a result of the balk. What is delayed is the umpire's decision as to whether or not to call "TIME!" because of the balk. Sometimes you do, sometimes you don't. NCAA is like OBR rather than FED. In your NCAA sitch, the ball does NOT become dead when the F3 catches the pick-off throw, or at any other time during the play as described. Had the R1 been put out returning to 1B or had the F3 made a good enough throw to retire the R1 as he attempted to advance to 2B, THEN you would call "TIME!" and award the R1 2B on the balk. You leave the ball "live" until you see if the R1 advances safely to 2B. Once he does, you disregard the balk. If the pitcher "aborts" as a result of the "That's a BALK!" call, you call "TIME!" and enforce the balk. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
All generalizations are bad. - R.H. Grenier |
|
|||
my rule citation post was directed at coachjm.
i tend to argee with ctblu40. unless this situation is addressed in a case play, it appears as if we must enforce the balk and call the ball dead once F2 catches the ball as the criteria to allow this play to continue any further has not been met. |
|
|||
![]()
ctblu40,
Quote:
First, in regard to the batter. If the batter does not, by rule, become a runner on the action immediately following the balk (which would require a pitch rather than a pick-off), the bit him about him reaching 1B is not relevant. Second, in regard to the runner. I believe that the essential element in regard to proper balk enforcement is NOT the "quality" of the pitcher's throw - whether a pitch delivered to the batter or a pick-off throw. I believe the essential element is whether all runners advance at least one base. If they do, the balk is disregarded. If they don't, the umpire calls "TIME!" and the balk is enforced. Now, I checked the MLBUM and it contains a statement in the "Balk Enforcement" section that says: Quote:
Because, the same section of the MLBUM also contains the statement: Quote:
If the "That's a Balk!" call does not stop the pitcher from throwing/pitching, then the play is allowed to proceed. The play is not killed until: 1. Any runner (including the batter-runner if there is one) is put out before reaching his first advance base. 2. The ball enters dead ball territory. 3. Some other action causes the ball to become dead by rule (Batter is HBP, runner being played upon is obstructed, Offensive interference, etc.) I am not positive this is correct, but I think it is. I think this, because I don't think it is intended that the defense should benefit from the balk. If the umpire were to retroactively kill the play at the point in time the F3 caught the ball, when the R2 had already committed to 2B (rather than trying to return to 1B) and the F3 subsequently made a wild throw in trying to retire the R1, who made it to 3B, the defense would end up benefitting from the balk call. I don't think that's the intent of the rule. I'll dig into it a little more and get back tomorrow, by which time I'm sure others will have chimed in. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
CoachJM,
J/R disagrees with you. They outline 3 scenarios for balk enforcement. A) balk followed by a pause: enforce the balk B) balk followed by a pitch: Enforce the balk unless the batter acquires first, and all other runners reach their advance base. The exception: if the pitch is wild, and all runners advance, but the batter does not become a runner, then "all related action is allowed, except the pitch, which does not count." To me, the exception emphasizes that unless the pitch is wild, the batter must become a runner and attain 1st base. C) balk followed by a throw: "related action is allowed until a fielder is able to glove and gain possesion of such a throw (if the throw is not wild). The defense is not allowed a tag try of, or a subsequent throw against (including a rundown) a runner before his advance base. If every runner acquires his advance base uncontested, the balk is disregarded". So the quality of the pitch and throw do matter. And with the exception of a wild pitch, the batter must become a runner and acquire first or the balk is enforced. By the way, their examples shows that a uncaught third strike would trigger the exception, even if the batter is out because 1st is occupied. In that case, if the runners advance, then the batter resumes his at bat with two strikes. All in all, it seems to me that the offense is pretty well protected. |
|
|||
B Doesn't Count?
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
If the umpire calls a balk that is followed by a subsequent throw, proper mechanics would prevent the situation you describe. For instance, in your situation, the umpire points at the pitcher and yells, "That's a balk!" The pitcher then throws to F3 on the bag. As soon as F3 gloves the ball, the umpire should be screaming with all his might, "TIME!" and then pointing to R1, "YOU, SECOND BASE!" All the while, the umpire should be moving toward the middle of the infield. With good mechanics, and a loud voice, the umpire should be able to stop all play.
__________________
"They can holler at the uniform all they want, but when they start hollering at the man wearing the uniform they're going to be in trouble."- Joe Brinkman |
|
|||
[QUOTE=CoachJM]
Under OBR rules, in your initial sitch (balk, F2 overthrows 2B in his attempt on the stealing R1, r1 ends up safe at 3B) the ball NEVER became dead as a result of the balk. Since the only runner advanced one base safely on the continuous action of the play immediately following the balk, the balk is disregarded - as if it never happened. [\QUOTE] Coach, I disagree with you on the proper way to enforce the balk penalty in both OBR and NCAA. First in OBR, in order for the balk to be nullified, both the runner and batter need to advance 1 base. Once F2 catches the pitch, it's obvious that the batter will not advance. At that point, the umpire should call "Time" and enforce the balk. Quote:
The rule references for both are in my previous reply above.
__________________
"They can holler at the uniform all they want, but when they start hollering at the man wearing the uniform they're going to be in trouble."- Joe Brinkman |
|
|||
Quote:
Edited to add: Oops...I didn't read page 2 before posting to your comment. I hadn't yet seen that several folks had already corrected you.
__________________
GB Last edited by GarthB; Tue Sep 19, 2006 at 12:13pm. |
|
|||
As far as OBR is considered, I would call time as soon as F2 gloved the pitch and awarded R1 second base. The reason for this stems from the penalty and AR-1 listed in 8.05.
"PENALTY: The ball is dead, and each runner shall advance one base without liability to be put out, unless the batter reaches first on a hit, an error, a base on balls, a hit batter, or otherwise, and all other runners advance at least one base, in which case the play proceeds without reference to the balk. APPROVED RULING: In cases where a pitcher balks and throws wild, either to a base or to home plate, a runner or runners may advance beyond the base to which he is entitled at his own risk." Since the batter did not reach first base, and the pitcher did not throw wild, the balk is enforced. NCAA rules are similar, but not the same. I would not call time and enforce the balk in this situation in an NCAA game because there are 2 criteria that need to be met. First, 9-3-PENALTY(1) is the same as OBR in that if all runners including the batter advance 1 base, the balk is ignored (which is not the case in the play above). Second, 9-3-PENALTY(2) indicates that "the umpire shall call balk in the usual manner, but shall not call "time" until all play has ceased (runners have stopped trying to advance and/or a fielder is in posession of the ball in the infield)." In your discription, a fielder has not yet held the ball in the infield (see NCAA RULE 2). Also, NCAA Rules allow for R1 to attempt to advance to third on this play, and if he's thrown out at third by F8, the runner is out and the balk is still "acknowledged as it pertains to the batter," ie the pitch does not change the count. (NCAA 9-3-PENALTY-A.R. 3) Hope this helps.
__________________
"They can holler at the uniform all they want, but when they start hollering at the man wearing the uniform they're going to be in trouble."- Joe Brinkman |
|
|||
Yep, dead when the catcher catches it. The MLBUM citation is pretty much word for word the original citation from the NAPBL (now PBUC) Manual. It is the definitive explanation on when to call time following a balk call. It's not simple, and it's not particularly intuitive, but it's in writing and it's official.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
RHP in stretch facing 1st base (balk or no balk) | tem_blue | Baseball | 6 | Thu Jul 20, 2006 10:00pm |
Stealing Home, P in Windup, Balk or No Balk? | johnnyg08 | Baseball | 2 | Wed Jul 05, 2006 10:12am |
Was this a Balk ? I called it a Balk. | nickrego | Baseball | 20 | Fri May 12, 2006 06:07am |
To Balk Or Not To Balk, That Is The Question.. | chuckfan1 | Baseball | 21 | Wed Sep 03, 2003 03:21pm |
Balk, Balk Yells the Coach!!! | Gre144 | Baseball | 12 | Tue Jul 10, 2001 07:32am |