The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 18, 2006, 09:45pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Fronheiser
It's dead when the catcher catches the baseball, as mentioned a few times higher in the thread.
Unless of course, it's ball four with first base occupied.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 18, 2006, 10:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
The problem with allowing F2 to throw down is precisely that something like the OP might happen: ball gets away from whoever is covering 2B, and the runner heads down to 3B. Now you have to kill it and enforce the balk (since the batter did not reach 1B), which means sending that runner BACK to 2B.

So I agree: call time when F2 gloves the pitch.

Also an argument for really using your lungs to call balks...
__________________
Cheers,
mb
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 18, 2006, 10:37pm
PWL PWL is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
Unless of course, it's ball four with first base occupied.
Why would the ball not be dead when the catcher catches the ball. All you simply is do ignore the balk since all runners advance.
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 18, 2006, 11:12pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by PWL
Why would the ball not be dead when the catcher catches the ball. All you simply is do ignore the balk since all runners advance.
Since when is the ball dead when you ignore a balk? If you are ignoring the balk since all runners advance on ball four, then the ball remains alive. What makes you think the ball is dead because of ball four???
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 19, 2006, 12:53am
PWL PWL is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
Since when is the ball dead when you ignore a balk? If you are ignoring the balk since all runners advance on ball four, then the ball remains alive. What makes you think the ball is dead because of ball four???
Because the first four words in the penalty read THE BALL IS DEAD.
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 18, 2006, 10:48pm
ggk ggk is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 140
balk - ncaa?

thanks for all of the input.
PRO -
consensus says to kill the play when F2 catches the pitch.

is there anywhere i can get my hands on a copy of the MLB Umpire's Manual ?? thanks.

NCAA -
do all agree that play is allowed to continue b/c F2 is not in the infield (per ctblu 40's early post)?
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 19, 2006, 07:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggk
thanks for all of the input.
NCAA -
do all agree that play is allowed to continue b/c F2 is not in the infield (per ctblu 40's early post)?
No. The NCAA rule is the same as OBR on this issue.
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 19, 2006, 07:50am
ggk ggk is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 140
bob jenkins stated
No. The NCAA rule is the same as OBR on this issue.

but what about ctblu40's post..........

"NCAA rules are similar, but not the same. I would not call time and enforce the balk in this situation in an NCAA game because there are 2 criteria that need to be met.
First, 9-3-PENALTY(1) is the same as OBR in that if all runners including the batter advance 1 base, the balk is ignored (which is not the case in the play above).
Second, 9-3-PENALTY(2) indicates that "the umpire shall call balk in the usual manner, but shall not call "time" until all play has ceased (runners have stopped trying to advance and/or a fielder is in posession of the ball in the infield)." In your discription, a fielder has not yet held the ball in the infield (see NCAA RULE 2)."

to me this says to allow play to continue on a pitched ball caught by the catcher as he is not in the "infield". as opposed to a balk on a throw to first where F3 catches the ball - that you would kill when he caught it.

do you have a citation to support your assertion? i just want to get this right in my head.
thanks.
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 19, 2006, 07:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggk
bob jenkins stated
No. The NCAA rule is the same as OBR on this issue.

but what about ctblu40's post..........

"NCAA rules are similar, but not the same. I would not call time and enforce the balk in this situation in an NCAA game because there are 2 criteria that need to be met.
First, 9-3-PENALTY(1) is the same as OBR in that if all runners including the batter advance 1 base, the balk is ignored (which is not the case in the play above).
Second, 9-3-PENALTY(2) indicates that "the umpire shall call balk in the usual manner, but shall not call "time" until all play has ceased (runners have stopped trying to advance and/or a fielder is in posession of the ball in the infield)." In your discription, a fielder has not yet held the ball in the infield (see NCAA RULE 2)."

to me this says to allow play to continue on a pitched ball caught by the catcher as he is not in the "infield". as opposed to a balk on a throw to first where F3 catches the ball - that you would kill when he caught it.

do you have a citation to support your assertion? i just want to get this right in my head.
thanks.
The rule he cited includes some preamble to the effect "if F1 throws wild..."

In the OP, F1 did not throw wild.
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 19, 2006, 08:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
The rule he cited includes some preamble to the effect "if F1 throws wild..."

In the OP, F1 did not throw wild.
Just so everyone knows, I think I'm leaning towards Bob's thinking here.
The exact quote from the 2006 NCAA book is as follows.

9-3-PENALTY(2) If a balk is immediately followed by a wild throw by the pitcher to a base that permits runner(s) to advance to or beyond the base to which that runner is entitled, the balk shall be acknowledged. The umpire will call the balk in the usual manner, but shall not call "Time" until all play has ceased (runners have stopped trying to advance and/or a fielder is in posession of the ball in the infield).

Another consideration I have made since my original post is that NCAA 9-3-PENALTY(1) says:
"If the balk is immediately followed by a pitch that permits the batter and each runner to advance a minimum of one base, the balk is ignored and the ball remains live."

Clearly, the NCAA rules are making a distinction between a throw to a base and a pitch. I stand corrected with regards to the proper ruling under NCAA rules... thanks BOB.
__________________
"They can holler at the uniform all they want, but when they start hollering at the man wearing the uniform they're going to be in trouble."- Joe Brinkman
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RHP in stretch facing 1st base (balk or no balk) tem_blue Baseball 6 Thu Jul 20, 2006 10:00pm
Stealing Home, P in Windup, Balk or No Balk? johnnyg08 Baseball 2 Wed Jul 05, 2006 10:12am
Was this a Balk ? I called it a Balk. nickrego Baseball 20 Fri May 12, 2006 06:07am
To Balk Or Not To Balk, That Is The Question.. chuckfan1 Baseball 21 Wed Sep 03, 2003 03:21pm
Balk, Balk Yells the Coach!!! Gre144 Baseball 12 Tue Jul 10, 2001 07:32am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1