The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 14, 2006, 10:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
If a runner has legally scored, he can't unscore himself. The standard example is this:

Abel on 3B tags up and scores after Baker hits a long fly ball that is caught. However, Abel thinks he might have left too soon and so returns to 3B as the throw comes in to the infield. Even if Abel stays on 3B with the ball on the mound, the umpire has to direct him off the base. He scored legally and that cannot be undone.

In my original post, I was thinking that maybe the timing would have an effect, but it wouldn't. The runner legally scored on the play and can't unscore.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 15, 2006, 12:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
A Learning Moment

Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule
If a runner has legally scored, he can't unscore himself. The standard example is this:

Abel on 3B tags up and scores after Baker hits a long fly ball that is caught. However, Abel thinks he might have left too soon and so returns to 3B as the throw comes in to the infield. Even if Abel stays on 3B with the ball on the mound, the umpire has to direct him off the base. He scored legally and that cannot be undone.

In my original post, I was thinking that maybe the timing would have an effect, but it wouldn't. The runner legally scored on the play and can't unscore.
Thanks for the helpful posts. This was good and I hope it helped others that may not have bothered to ask. If the defense also attempts to make a play on the confused runner and succesfully complete the apparent out at 3B, I can see a whole lot of "confusion" erupting from their bleachers. I guess now I have the CORRECT understanding of what I need to explain to a befuddled coach. I welcome any other comments or additional info from other knowledgeable sources on how to properly address this situation.

Last edited by SAump; Fri Sep 15, 2006 at 12:31am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 16, 2006, 02:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
Oops, there it is.

OBR 5.06
When a batter becomes a runner and touches all bases legally he shall score one run for his team.
Rule 5.06 Comment: A run legally scored cannot be nullified by subsequent action of the runner, such as but not limited to an effort to return to third base in the belief that he had left the base before a caught fly ball.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 16, 2006, 06:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 67
ok, so you cannot "unscore" yourself. But can you be legally put out? I would have to say yes, as there is a very good possibility of interference here. Think of it this way: abel returns to third after retouching home. The fly ball is dropped (unintentional). Now the outfielder throws to 3rd to try and put out Abel, even though he is no longer a legal runner. The defense could have easily put out the batter/runner. Do you call interference? I certainly would. But here is the tricky part: Can you call the runner at third out for interference as well as calling out the runner at first? or should you just get rid of the runner at third (due to his not legally being there) and just count the out at first? Interesting.....
__________________
Hey blue, he's balking again!

Hey coach, i still haven't put the ball in play.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 16, 2006, 07:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
A runner who has legally scored cannot be put out. Of course, if he subsequently deliberately interferes with a play, the runner being played on would be out. If the runner who scored mistakenly believes he missed a base or left too soon, gets himself back on the basepaths, and draws a throw, he would not by that act alone be guilty of interference.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wow...that was eaisier than I thought. LarryS Basketball 16 Wed Aug 30, 2006 07:31pm
Never thought I'd see this one... TussAgee11 Baseball 13 Mon Apr 03, 2006 03:58pm
Thats what I thought IREFU2 Basketball 11 Tue Mar 01, 2005 11:12pm
Thought some would like this one IRISHMAFIA Softball 1 Sun May 23, 2004 09:39pm
I thought i'd never see it! ace Basketball 13 Mon Jul 14, 2003 11:45am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1