The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 26, 2006, 08:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
dropped 3rd strike

I think I know this but would like affirmation. In a high school game, 2 outs bases loaded.There was a droped 3rd and the batter was thrown out at 1b but runner from third crossed before the out. ump counted the run because "it was an error". then 2 weeks later i saw it again in a colt game!!
right call or not???
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 26, 2006, 08:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by acoach
I think I know this but would like affirmation. In a high school game, 2 outs bases loaded.There was a droped 3rd and the batter was thrown out at 1b but runner from third crossed before the out. ump counted the run because "it was an error". then 2 weeks later i saw it again in a colt game!!
right call or not???
He was right, it was an error. HIS (the umpire's) error. If the 3rd out is made by the batter runner before reaching 1B, then no run can score. This rule applies in all rules codes.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 26, 2006, 09:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
thanks dave, its sad that bad call spreads more bad calls. The ump who made the call in the colt game, was a player in the HS game and cited that call. yikes! i looked at him with cross eyed disbelief.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 26, 2006, 09:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16
Force play for third out at 1base on dropped 3rd strike

In a word, is there a force or tag? It's a force situation, not a tag. As such, if the out is recorded at 1b, no runs can score. If it's a tag situation (not this case), then there's a possible time play - has the runner crossed the plate before the out was made?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 26, 2006, 09:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to Always Wright
Be careful with how you word things. A tag play can be a force play. For example, R1, ground ball to 2B who tags R1. This is a force play. And just because a runner does not have to be tagged does not mean it is a force play. For example, R1 and R3, 1 out. Fly ball to RF. R3 tags and scores. R1, thinking the ball will not be caught, takes off and is doubled off by a throw to 1B. R3 crosses home before out is recorded at first. Even though R1 did not have to be tagged, this is not a force play and the run counts. This is an appeal play.

Chris Wright
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 27, 2006, 07:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
And, what appears to 95% of the world to be a force play (eg. a runner who left early) can be a timing play. This was VERY poorly worded. (Not to mention that throwing out the batter-runner at first base is not technically a force play.)
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 27, 2006, 08:32am
Broadcaster
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: LaGrange, Ga.
Posts: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by acoach
I think I know this but would like affirmation. In a high school game, 2 outs bases loaded.There was a droped 3rd and the batter was thrown out at 1b but runner from third crossed before the out. ump counted the run because "it was an error". then 2 weeks later i saw it again in a colt game!!
right call or not???
Forgive this broadcaster who thinks he knows all the rules ( ) but if the catcher simply picks up the ball and steps on home plate, wouldn't that be the third out in the case above?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 27, 2006, 08:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,577
Yes, it would. R3 is 'forced' to home by the action of the batter becoming a runner.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 27, 2006, 12:54pm
Broadcaster
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: LaGrange, Ga.
Posts: 364
Thought so, but I wasn't 100% sure. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 27, 2006, 01:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Northern California
Posts: 477
Send a message via AIM to nickrego
3rd Strikes are NOT dropped...

they are Not Caught.

"3rd Strike Not Caught" is the rule book terminology.

A ball has to be caught, before it can be dropped. If it was caught, dropping it does not effect the strike.

Example: Fielder catches a throw, but drops the ball as he tags the runner.
__________________
Have Great Games !

Nick
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dropped 3rd strike JRSooner Baseball 12 Tue May 17, 2005 11:10am
Dropped Third Strike mckinnishk Baseball 3 Sat Jul 31, 2004 09:22am
Dropped 3rd Strike rwest Softball 36 Tue Apr 06, 2004 09:40am
Dropped Third Strike jefftheref15 Baseball 2 Tue Mar 30, 2004 10:29am
dropped third strike tsa4 Baseball 5 Thu Aug 14, 2003 07:28am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1