The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   dropped 3rd strike (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/27578-dropped-3rd-strike.html)

acoach Wed Jul 26, 2006 08:11pm

dropped 3rd strike
 
I think I know this but would like affirmation. In a high school game, 2 outs bases loaded.There was a droped 3rd and the batter was thrown out at 1b but runner from third crossed before the out. ump counted the run because "it was an error". then 2 weeks later i saw it again in a colt game!!
right call or not???

Dave Hensley Wed Jul 26, 2006 08:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by acoach
I think I know this but would like affirmation. In a high school game, 2 outs bases loaded.There was a droped 3rd and the batter was thrown out at 1b but runner from third crossed before the out. ump counted the run because "it was an error". then 2 weeks later i saw it again in a colt game!!
right call or not???

He was right, it was an error. HIS (the umpire's) error. If the 3rd out is made by the batter runner before reaching 1B, then no run can score. This rule applies in all rules codes.

acoach Wed Jul 26, 2006 09:08pm

thanks dave, its sad that bad call spreads more bad calls. The ump who made the call in the colt game, was a player in the HS game and cited that call. yikes! i looked at him with cross eyed disbelief.

ptmac Wed Jul 26, 2006 09:38pm

Force play for third out at 1base on dropped 3rd strike
 
In a word, is there a force or tag? It's a force situation, not a tag. As such, if the out is recorded at 1b, no runs can score. If it's a tag situation (not this case), then there's a possible time play - has the runner crossed the plate before the out was made?

Always Wright Wed Jul 26, 2006 09:43pm

Be careful with how you word things. A tag play can be a force play. For example, R1, ground ball to 2B who tags R1. This is a force play. And just because a runner does not have to be tagged does not mean it is a force play. For example, R1 and R3, 1 out. Fly ball to RF. R3 tags and scores. R1, thinking the ball will not be caught, takes off and is doubled off by a throw to 1B. R3 crosses home before out is recorded at first. Even though R1 did not have to be tagged, this is not a force play and the run counts. This is an appeal play.

Chris Wright

mcrowder Thu Jul 27, 2006 07:44am

And, what appears to 95% of the world to be a force play (eg. a runner who left early) can be a timing play. This was VERY poorly worded. (Not to mention that throwing out the batter-runner at first base is not technically a force play.)

voiceoflg Thu Jul 27, 2006 08:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by acoach
I think I know this but would like affirmation. In a high school game, 2 outs bases loaded.There was a droped 3rd and the batter was thrown out at 1b but runner from third crossed before the out. ump counted the run because "it was an error". then 2 weeks later i saw it again in a colt game!!
right call or not???

Forgive this broadcaster who thinks he knows all the rules ( :rolleyes: ) but if the catcher simply picks up the ball and steps on home plate, wouldn't that be the third out in the case above?

LMan Thu Jul 27, 2006 08:39am

Yes, it would. R3 is 'forced' to home by the action of the batter becoming a runner.

voiceoflg Thu Jul 27, 2006 12:54pm

Thought so, but I wasn't 100% sure. Thanks.

nickrego Thu Jul 27, 2006 01:36pm

3rd Strikes are NOT dropped...
 
they are Not Caught.

"3rd Strike Not Caught" is the rule book terminology.

A ball has to be caught, before it can be dropped. If it was caught, dropping it does not effect the strike.

Example: Fielder catches a throw, but drops the ball as he tags the runner.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1