The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 29, 2006, 01:05pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by bossman72
OBR i believe you play on.
Not if the object prevented the ball from entering DBT.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 29, 2006, 01:22pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
If it is the offense that left the equipment out, and that object prevented the ball from going into DBT, you do not award bases or kill the ball. The offense is prohibited from leaving equipment laying on the field. Rule 3.14.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 29, 2006, 02:59pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
If it is the offense that left the equipment out, and that object prevented the ball from going into DBT, you do not award bases or kill the ball. The offense is prohibited from leaving equipment laying on the field. Rule 3.14.
Both teams are prohibited from leaving equipment laying on the field.

See FED CB 1.3.7, Situations A and B. Also see page 184 of the 2004 edition of J/R, which makes no distinction between offense or defense - "However, if a ball strikes a piece of equipment that is on LBT (usually the lip or top step of a dugout), and such ball would have entered DBT absent the contact with such equipment, then the ball is considered to have entered DBT."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 29, 2006, 06:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by DG
Both teams are prohibited from leaving equipment laying on the field.

See FED CB 1.3.7, Situations A and B. Also see page 184 of the 2004 edition of J/R, which makes no distinction between offense or defense - "However, if a ball strikes a piece of equipment that is on LBT (usually the lip or top step of a dugout), and such ball would have entered DBT absent the contact with such equipment, then the ball is considered to have entered DBT."
This year's BRD (sec 208) says no penalty for OBR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 29, 2006, 07:38pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by bossman72
This year's BRD (sec 208) says no penalty for OBR
This subject is in the BRD because there is a difference between the various rules. FED says dead ball if equipment prevented the ball from going into DBT. This is stated not in the rules, but in the CB. NCAA has an AR in the rulebook that says the ball stays LIVE. OBR has no penalty listed in the Rule Book. J/R states a penalty for balls prevented from going into LBT and J/R is considered an authoritive source of expanded interpretation by some. Use it to the level you value J/R opinions.

I suppose if you were working an OBR game in a tournament where there was a protest committee in place it would be safer to go with NO PENALTY, since that is what is listed in the rule book and no one on the committee is likely to know what J/R is, much less have one on hand.

So for ggk's original question it appears there is a difference between FED, NCAA, and OBR, on balls prevented from going in the dugout by loose equipment. But in cases where there is just simple contact they all appear to be the same, ie LIVE.

Last edited by DG; Mon May 29, 2006 at 08:13pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 29, 2006, 07:28pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by DG
Both teams are prohibited from leaving equipment laying on the field.

See FED CB 1.3.7, Situations A and B. Also see page 184 of the 2004 edition of J/R, which makes no distinction between offense or defense - "However, if a ball strikes a piece of equipment that is on LBT (usually the lip or top step of a dugout), and such ball would have entered DBT absent the contact with such equipment, then the ball is considered to have entered DBT."
JEA says basically the same thing:

Umpires should monitor the area in front of the dugouts and insure that gloves and equipment are not left lying on the playing field. Equipment lying on the "lip" of the dugout is legal but a thrown ball that strikes it is considered "in the dugout".
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ball hits bat Rachel Softball 3 Wed Apr 26, 2006 08:28am
Ball Hits Runner?????????????? slowballbaker Softball 7 Wed Aug 24, 2005 08:31am
ball hits top of bb in or out StevenW Basketball 4 Wed Aug 06, 2003 11:40am
batter hits ball after hits ground kfinucan Softball 13 Sun Jun 29, 2003 09:29pm
Bat hits ball vs. Ball hits bat abergman Baseball 6 Mon Jul 16, 2001 07:26am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1