![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
What if: Runner on 2nd two outs. popup to F5. F5 is standing on third with one foot on middle of bag other foot next to bag foul side. R2 running on hit comes into third standing touches bag and momentum takes him into F5 all the while maintaining contact with base. F5 gets pushed to side ball drops just behind 3rd in fair territory. Are you letting that go as 7.08 would dictate? Not me. I've got interference all the way. Plus as stated in the above posting "typical safety related modifications" Ususally that means avoid contact. In the original sitch runner sees ball in front of plate, runner knows catcher does not have ball. Runner can slide catcher can step over or around sliding runner. I've got interference here as well. But since he touched home prior to the interference the run counts. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
|
|||
|
Quote:
How bout this. Bases loaded no outs. base hit to left. R3 scores, then comes back up the 3rd base line to try and get bat out of way for following runner. However in doing so he interferes with F1 taking throw from left. What's your call? Are you taking R3s run away? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Tim. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
SD steve wanted to know how I could allow the run to score if there was interference. R3 scored then interfered, run scores. To discount the score it would have to be a retro penalty, and as you have correctly stated there is no such thing. And it's not runners interference, that's my point, once R3 scores he is no longer a runner |
|
|||
|
Hmmm,
When in doubt, I go to the rules and then the interpretations. Here is what the rules say (all are OBR cites): Quote:
Home plate/base is most certainly "a base", and the runner who is "touching" that base is still a "runner" - at least according to what the rules say. Since his contact with the base is legal, his contact with the (presumably) "protected" fielder who is attempting to field a fair batted ball is, by rule, not interference. Live ball, play on. Having said all of this, I will say that I do find mcrowder's comments on the situation perfectly logical and somewhat persuasive, though ultimately unconvincing. It would not shock me if he were able to post an Official Interpretation or Authoritative Opinion (or rule) that supported his position on the situation in question; but I certainly haven't seen him do so. If I understand him correctly, his position is that the R3 would be charged with "interference by an offensive teammate" (though I did find his "..equivalent at best to a coach..." comment needlessly derogatory - to the poor runner), resulting in the BR being called out. Since the R3 has already scored, his run would stand unless, of course, the out on the BR was the 3rd out of the half inning. While I would agree that this coud be the proper ruling on the situation posed, I do not believe it is. JM |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Catcher's Interference on a Squeeze Play | isneths | Baseball | 5 | Wed Jul 14, 2004 01:18pm |
| Squeeze play interference? | tornado | Baseball | 4 | Mon Jul 12, 2004 10:37am |
| Suicide Squeeze Coverage-Two man Crew | gsf23 | Baseball | 15 | Thu Mar 06, 2003 04:39pm |
| Play Situation from another Forum | wadep1965 | Baseball | 8 | Mon Feb 04, 2002 06:32pm |
| game play situation? | crew | Basketball | 8 | Tue Dec 11, 2001 03:18pm |