![]() |
|
|
|||
It sounds like from the post that the runner just sat there and waited to be tagged. If he had made an attempt to touch home, and the catcher had continued to impede him, then I have obstruction. If he is just going to sit there I don't know how much "obstructing" is actually going on.
__________________
My job is a decision-making job, and as a result, I make a lot of decisions." --George W. Bush |
|
|||
yeah thats where im kind of rethinking what i posted about earlier. i cant picture a runner just laying there doing nothing at all, which brought me to my OBS call.
if he really does just lay there motionless, then i have an out once hes tagged. |
|
|||
Steve:
Your answer will depend on what organizational rules set was being used. Little League, for example, has gone the way of the NCAA wording on obstruction by removing the verbiage "in the act of fielding" from the definition of obstruction. OBSTRUCTION is the act of a fielder who, while not in possession of the ball, impedes the progress of any runner. A fake tag is considered obstruction. (NOTE: Obstruction shall be called on a defensive player who blocks off a base, base line or home plate from a base runner while not in possession of the ball.) This makes this an easy call. Simply put, if the fielder doesn't have possession of the ball he cannot be in the basepath to block the runner off of the plate. There are provisions whereby he can move into the basepath to field an errant throw, but in your play it doesn't sound like that happened. In other youth organizations playing under modified OBR the wording is the same as pure OBR. OBSTRUCTION is the act of a fielder who, while not in possession of the ball and not in the act of fielding the ball, impedes the progress of any runner. Official Notes - Case Book - Comments: If a fielder is about to receive a thrown ball and if the ball is in flight directly toward and near enough to the fielder so he must occupy his position to receive the ball he may be considered "in the act of fielding a ball." It is entirely up to the judgment of the umpire as to whether a fielder is in the act of fielding a ball. After a fielder has made an attempt to field a ball and missed, he can no longer be in the "act of fielding" the ball. For example: an infielder dives at a ground ball and the ball passes him and he continues to lie on the ground and delays the progress of the runner, he very likely has obstructed the runner. If you were playing under straight OBR then this wasn't obstruction until, as Brian first said, the fielder missplayed the ball. I think Brian should have stuck with his initial call because as soon as the catcher missplayed the ball we now have type A obstruction and a dead ball. It doesn't matter that the runner didn't make it to the plate. The moment the catcher played on him after the drop the play should have been killed and the runner should be awarded home. Tim. |
|
|||
I have obstruction BEFORE the tag - he blocked the plate without possession of the ball.
However, if he had the ball before contact occurred (thus no OBS at that point), and then dropped the ball during contact, then what matters is what happens next. Blocking the plate now would only be obstruction if he prevented R1 from attaining the plate ... which requires some sort of effort by the runner. If runner just sat there (either stunned, confused, or assuming he was already touching the plate), then there is no effort to be obstructed with, and we have an out on the tag. If runner made ANY attempt to get to the plate, and that effort was blocked by the catcher without possession of the ball, we have OBS.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson |
|
|||
Guys, let's look at this situation.
The catcher dropped a throw, while the runner was sliding into the plate. The runner was blocked from the plate, so he never touched it. Catcher dropped the throw and during continuing action, reached for the ball and tagged the runner. For the F2 to not obstruct in your interp he would have to move away from the plate to pick up the ball that is still within arms reach away? Seems like obstruction is a stretch in this sitch. Bob P.
__________________
Bob P. ----------------------- We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself. |
|
|||
I have heard and understand from veteran officials in my area, that on a misplayed throw and the ball is within a "Step and a reach" of the fielder, the "continuning action" mantra prevails. If the ball is outside this area, call the obstruction and award the runner home. Generally, this is between 24 and 36 inches (2 to 3 feet) from the fielder.
In your sitch, it sounds like the ball was within reach of the catcher for the play to be made. There was nothing stopping the runner from sitting up and reaching over to touch the plate. |
|
|||
Doesnt matter how far away the ball rolled, if the runner does nothing I have no OBS. If the two separate cleanly (F2 to the ball, runner to the plate) I have nothing also.
If the runner is now impeded/hindered from regaining his feet (or crawling) to the plate as F2 is attempting to get the ball, now I may have OBS. |
|
|||
Quote:
In Little League and NCAA this would be obstruction, as the fielder was set up in the basepath without possession of the ball. Tim. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Play at plate | Duke | Softball | 11 | Wed Apr 27, 2005 03:19pm |
Best position for play at the plate | Jay R | Baseball | 5 | Sun Jul 27, 2003 09:44pm |
Play at the plate. | alabamabluezebra | Softball | 2 | Wed May 29, 2002 08:37am |
Plate play mechanics | Carl Childress | Baseball | 5 | Wed Aug 30, 2000 04:22pm |
Play at the plate | John Choiniere | Baseball | 2 | Sun Jun 11, 2000 03:33pm |