![]() |
|
|
|||
Never thought I'd see this one...
Oh my, what a play.
Runner on 1st, 0-2 pitch. The ball slips out of the pitchers hand and starts rolling in... I was ready to call balk (didn't look like it was getting to the plate), but somehow it rolled into the box. All the while the runner on 1st has taken off for second. The batter just stands in the box as the ball rolls into his foot. His foot was in fair territory. I say "Dead Ball". Now what, I'm thinking to myself. a) Balk? (the ball stopped in fair territory) Award the runner 2nd (which he was getting anyway). b) HBP? (technically the rule says that the batter can not move and get hit by the pitch) c) Dead Ball - ball (the batter intentionally got struck with the pitch, even though he didn't move, the ball was rolling in there, a turtle could have avoided). But then what do I do with the runner? I'm guessing I would put him back to first. I chose dead ball HBP and awarded the runner 1st. R1 awarded 2nd. Luckily everyone was smiling enough to where the only person that was ticked was the defensive coach. He wanted a dead ball strike ![]() I think I made the correct technical choice per the rules, which is all I can do. I'm not interested in killing the play as the ball is rolling in and calling a balk for game managment purposes. Not my job. I called what was in the rules I believe, (I looked it up and think I got it right). I just couldn't believe what I saw though! Thats the great thing about baseball, everyday, you could see something you'll never see again. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
GB |
|
|||
So he made no attempt...
But can we interpret that as an attempt to get hit? Remember, a batter is allowed to freeze in the batters box, no? Oh no, I got NCAA confused with FED. Say it ain't so! YUCK! Oh gosh, how could I do that. Maybe its time we consolidate rule books and just use one, because my brain can't jump from rule book to rule book evidently. Gosh darnit! |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
GB |
|
|||
Pitch hits the batter, thats a dead ball, regardless of whether the pitch bounces in or is a 90mph fastball. Now, whether to award first on the HBP is a judgement call. FED 8-1-d (exception) If he makes no effort to avoid being hit...
__________________
Bob P. ----------------------- We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself. |
|
|||
It's entirely your judgment whether he intended to get hit or just froze. The batter bears the burden to attempt to get out of the way for the most part, however, if you feel he didn't have sufficient time to react then it's a HBP. Garth is right, as usual, and there's just no way this batter didn't have time to react to a ball slowly rolling at him.
Tim. |
|
|||
Quote:
HBP is the reason. If batter is awarded first then runner advance 1 base from where he was at time of pitch if forced. If batter not awarded first, which in this case no way he should be, then he returns to first because that is where he was at the time of pitch. That is in all rule books.
__________________
Jim Need an out, get an out. Need a run, balk it in. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Thats what I thought | IREFU2 | Basketball | 11 | Tue Mar 01, 2005 11:12pm |
Just thought I would get something started here... | w_sohl | Track & Field | 0 | Wed Jan 05, 2005 03:37pm |
Thought some would like this one | IRISHMAFIA | Softball | 1 | Sun May 23, 2004 09:39pm |
HL thought process | tempestos | Football | 7 | Thu Sep 25, 2003 07:11am |
I thought i'd never see it! | ace | Basketball | 13 | Mon Jul 14, 2003 11:45am |