The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 14, 2006, 07:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 652
I have a question about balls lodging in a catcher or umpire's uniform/gear under NFHS rules. There was some discussion at our local meeting the other night.

Page 37: Dead Ball Table "16. A pitch or thrown ball from pitcher's plate...lodges in umpire's or catcher's equipment. Award: All runners one base"

Page 37: "12. Fair ball...lodges in player's uniform or equipment. Award: All runners two bases from TOP"

Rule 8-3-3 c) says that all runners awarded two bases if a fair batted or thrown ball lodges in catcher or umpire's gear. d) says one base if a pitch (or throw from pitching plate)

There was a "Discussion" at our meeting by those who said it was runners only advance if forced on lodged pitch because of batter becoming a runner on ball four or strike 3. They said then and only then would runners advance (if they were forced). Am I missing something here?

8-3-3 in the casebook, (I could not find a rule reference in the rules book) seems to imply that if lodged in a player's shirt, for example, the runners do not move up unless advanced and the runner gets the base they were going to (umpire's judgment)? Under OBR, would this be to the umpire's judgment and award bases to nullify the dead ball? Thanks....
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1