The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 03, 2001, 10:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 77
Re: Re: Never sometimes means never

Quote:
Originally posted by Gee
Quote:
Originally posted by batterup
First of all 8.02 reads like this. A pitcher cannot lick his fingers when in the 18 foot circle SURROUNDING the pitching rubber. That is when it is a ball. Once the pitcher is on the rubber different rules apply. Look to 8.05.

In short once on the rubber you can't be licking fingers, adjusting hats, or things like that without being called for a balk when runners are on base. You must pitch with one continuous motion without interruption.
-----------------------

Same thing with 8.05(k) If the pitcher, while touching his plate, intentionally or accidentaly drops the ball, it is a balk. Not true.

When the pitcher starts the stretch and drops the ball it is nothing 8.02. However, after he comes to set and starts the pitch and he then drops the ball, balk 8.05. Don't get the two rules confused.G

[Edited by Gee on Jun 3rd, 2001 at 09:25 AM]
You both have this wrong.

Batterup, don't be confusing Federation restrictions with OBR. Under Fed rules,once the pitcher intentionally contacts the rubber restrictions begin. That means he is not permitted to fiddle, scratch, adjust his cap, wipe off catcher's signs, etc. These are all illegal acts because of the restriction of movement and the requirement to "go to the set position without interruption and in one continuous motion." However, OBR, while it does require the pitcher to go to the set position "without interruption and in one continuous motion" (8.01(b)), does not have the strict interpretataion limiting the pitcher's movements. Sure, we've all seen it called, but mostly the pitcher is not restricted by the umpires until he actually starts to go set. Primarily the difference stems from the fact that the OBR balk rule is intended to prevent illegal deception of a base runner(s), whereas the Fed balk rule does not take intent and deception into consideration.

Gee, you are mistaken about dropping the ball. If, with a runner(s) on base and while in contact with the rubber, the pitcher drops the ball, it is a balk (8.05(k)). Period. It is a balk. 8.01(d) applies only with no runners.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1