The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 10, 2005, 10:54am
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally posted by PeteBooth
Originally posted by Matthew F

What I'm not sure about, is do we, as umpires, permit the runner to retouch the bases back to 1B if they are on (or past) a subsequent base when the ball became dead? Since its not legal, I tend to believe you don't permit it. But if you stop the runner from returning, you clue in the "clueless defense" to the runner's error.

B1 hits a gapper, misses first, rounds second base when he/she realizes it. While B1 is either on second base or between second and third the ball goes into DBT.
Pete Booth
Double check me on this, the award is from the TOT by the outfielder so runner would have to be on or beyond 2B when outfielder released the ball, not when it went into DBT,which could be several seconds later.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1