The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 27, 2005, 12:51pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally posted by fwump
DG,

I think we both making assumptions but I see your point. HTBT but if I see BR miss first because F3 is standing on the bag I have obsruction without a play(type b). Therefore in this sitch, play continues and BR tries to return to 1B when a play is attempted. The question is; would you award 1B to BR after ball is thrown into DBT?

Mike
IF (large IF), I called obstruction on F1 before BR reached 1B, then that would be a type b and he is awarded 1B. But, he has to touch 1B to complete the award and if he goes to the dugout instead we could have abandonement. From J/R again, "Once the ball is dead, an offensive player can advance, but only because of an award resulting from live ball action. Such runner cannot be put out by the defense, but can be declared out by the umpire for abandoning his effort to run the bases..." Of course the proper mechanic would be to call the obstruction, wait for play to be over and then say "you, 1B". If he goes to the dugout after that then there is no need for an appeal because I have abandonement before reaching 1B, runs don't count, game over.

This is apparently a real situation that actually happened, but if BR can not touch 1B somehow when he knows he has driven in the tieing and winning run, I just don't understand that. There is no reason for him to round 1B and head for 2B, all he has to do is run up to the bag and nick any part of it with any part of either foot and game over. I think he can do this with F1 standing on the bag so there is no way I call obstruction on F1 before reaching 1B. I think I could see obstruction on advance to 2B, but this would be type b and he is awarded nothing, but he has to touch 1B to erase the miss, and if he goes to the dugout then I have abandonment after acquiring 1B, runs scored game over, unless defense appeals for advantageous 4th out, and then game over runs don't score.

[Edited by DG on May 27th, 2005 at 01:59 PM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1