The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 26, 2005, 11:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally posted by Rich Ives
My 2 cents


Was the obstruction called or is it just your opinion? I don't think it matters because, now that the ball is dead, he has to tag the base before he goes to third anyhow.

Even if you call him out for abandonment they can still appeal the miss.

Now, if any one of the infielders or the pitcher has not crossed the foul line, they can appeal.


"OK Coach - get your pitcher on the mound and we'll put the ball in play."


Total agreement that the runner here needs to touch 1B since he has the opportunity to correct his error---even if the miss was intially caused by an obstruction. His unobstructed return attempt to 1B warrants his need to touch the base to eliminate appeal of the miss. The throw to 1B by F6 should not be considered an obvious appeal of a missed base since retiring BR after touching 1B could also be considered as a potential timing play to retire BR before R2 touches the plate.

The only other comment, Rich, is that I'd not in anyway consider an abandonment call under the game situation described. The scoring of the two lead runners with 2 out eliminates the need for BR to carryout acceptance of his reward.


Just my opinion,

Freix



Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1