The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 18, 2005, 01:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 111
Got to love the NFHS Case Book (brought it to work to review for playoffs)...

2.16.1 Situation B: B1's bunt rolls up the first-base line where it hits B1's bat that was lying on the ground in fair territory. The ball deflects into foul terriory. Is the ball fair or foul?

Ruling: The ball is foul, provided the bat was not placed there intentionally. The bat is considered to be part of the playing field. (2-5-1, 2-8-1, 8-4-1d)

That's what I was taught, however I don't see the rules being explicit in this case. I was also taught that if the batter makes contact with the ball a second time with the bat while in the batter's box, it's a foul; If one foot is completely outside the batter's box, he's out - regardless of intent. For NFHS at least, I would rule based on intent if the bat were still rolling/moving.

[Edited by Matthew F on May 18th, 2005 at 02:17 PM]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1