The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 05, 2005, 02:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 16
I am the PU, 2 out.
First pitch is high inside and as I saw it, the batter pivots out of the path of the ball.
The ball gets away from the catcher, R3 scores.
The pitcher requested a replacement ball, which I gave him.
Because there was a brake in play, I indicate and called the count, 1Ball, No strikes.
After 2 more strikes the batter turned and ran to the dug out and the defensive team runs off.

My partner came over to me, and I asked him if I had missed a strike.
Yes, he said, the batter swung at the first pitch. As I had called the pitch a ball and I had not been asked to get help for the BU, my count of 1B & 2S was correct.

I believe I should have called the batter back and continued the count, I didnÂ’t.

Is this correct, even though the opposition had taken the field.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 05, 2005, 10:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 9
Sometimes on a high inside pitch you can blink involuntarily and miss the swing. I bet that is what happened. It takes time and practice to not blink in this situation. I am not saying that is what happened but it seems like it could have, especially since your partner and everyone else thought the batter swung at the pitch..

Roy
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 05, 2005, 12:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,718
As soon as the batter started heading to the dugout, you should have hollered, "TIME. Batter, that's only two strikes."

If your partner comes to you, and says that there was a swing on the first pitch, tough noogies. There was no defensive appeal on that pitch. You even gave the count as "ONE BALL, NO STRIKES". Your count stands.

"PLAY BALL"

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 08, 2005, 02:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 727
What rules?

In FED, if the batter left the box and heads to the dugout with 2 strikes and none of the exceptions listed in 7.3.1 apply, I've got strike 3.
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 08, 2005, 02:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 82
Correct the situation. You called it a ball and did not go for help.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 08, 2005, 02:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Twobits - by what rule?

Dentonref - Are you in Denton, TX? I work out of Little Elm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 08, 2005, 03:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 727
As stated before, 7.3.1.
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade."
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 08, 2005, 03:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Idaho
Posts: 1,474
The rule is 7.3.1

I don't have my book, but I believe this is the called strike for being out of the box.
__________________
"There are no superstar calls. We don't root for certain teams. We don't cheat. But sometimes we just miss calls." - Joe Crawford
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 08, 2005, 03:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,729
HOWEVER,

The whole 7.3.1 issue also deals with players that "leave the box in error" (by words).

I know of no umpire (I guess except one) that would call the penalty strike for a batter leaving the box because he "thought" it was strike three.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 08, 2005, 03:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY state
Posts: 1,504
Quote:
Originally posted by TwoBits
What rules?

In FED, if the batter left the box and heads to the dugout with 2 strikes and none of the exceptions listed in 7.3.1 apply, I've got strike 3.
You gotta be kidding me. That rule is intended to prevent players from puposely delaying the game. Is that what's going on here? You'll have two ejections and be known as an OOO for the rest of the season.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 08, 2005, 03:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 727
Perhaps I'm assuming too much here. I, as the plate umpire, have called or announced strike 2. The batter takes off to the dugout. None of the exceptions in 7.3.1 have occured. I now have strike 3.

Incidently, I have not called a delay of game strike since the words, "delays the game" were added to 7.3.1 Penalty, but a couple of times a year I am questioned by coaches who are looking for a cheap strike as to whether the batter is delaying the game.
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade."
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 08, 2005, 03:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY state
Posts: 1,504
Quote:
Originally posted by TwoBits
Perhaps I'm assuming too much here. I, as the plate umpire, have called or announced strike 2. The batter takes off to the dugout. None of the exceptions in 7.3.1 have occured. I now have strike 3.

Incidently, I have not called a delay of game strike since the words, "delays the game" were added to 7.3.1 Penalty, but a couple of times a year I am questioned by coaches who are looking for a cheap strike as to whether the batter is delaying the game.
If that batter delayed the game it was because you didn't manage the game properly.

My goodness. OOO
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 08, 2005, 03:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
I can't even imagine using 7.3.1 to call a strike on a batter who simply had the count wrong. In fact, if I have 2 strikes, and the batter starts heading for the dugout, I'm pretty sure I'm piping up with, "That's only 2 strikes, batter."

7.3.1 should be used (predominantly) when batter refused to enter the box when you tell him to. Not when he's just innocently mistaken (especially in a case like the one posted, where it's actually at least partially the umpire's fault for the confusion).
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 08, 2005, 04:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,169
Quote:
Originally posted by TwoBits
Perhaps I'm assuming too much here. I, as the plate umpire, have called or announced strike 2. The batter takes off to the dugout. None of the exceptions in 7.3.1 have occured. I now have strike 3.

There are specific cases in the case book (duh -- where else would they be?) in which a batter leaves the box becasue he had the wrong count. As long as he returns promptly upon being told the correct count, no penalty strike is called.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1