View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 08, 2005, 04:53pm
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,169
Quote:
Originally posted by TwoBits
Perhaps I'm assuming too much here. I, as the plate umpire, have called or announced strike 2. The batter takes off to the dugout. None of the exceptions in 7.3.1 have occured. I now have strike 3.

There are specific cases in the case book (duh -- where else would they be?) in which a batter leaves the box becasue he had the wrong count. As long as he returns promptly upon being told the correct count, no penalty strike is called.

Reply With Quote