View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 08, 2005, 03:52pm
mcrowder mcrowder is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
I can't even imagine using 7.3.1 to call a strike on a batter who simply had the count wrong. In fact, if I have 2 strikes, and the batter starts heading for the dugout, I'm pretty sure I'm piping up with, "That's only 2 strikes, batter."

7.3.1 should be used (predominantly) when batter refused to enter the box when you tell him to. Not when he's just innocently mistaken (especially in a case like the one posted, where it's actually at least partially the umpire's fault for the confusion).
Reply With Quote