The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 05, 2005, 02:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 16
I am the PU, 2 out.
First pitch is high inside and as I saw it, the batter pivots out of the path of the ball.
The ball gets away from the catcher, R3 scores.
The pitcher requested a replacement ball, which I gave him.
Because there was a brake in play, I indicate and called the count, 1Ball, No strikes.
After 2 more strikes the batter turned and ran to the dug out and the defensive team runs off.

My partner came over to me, and I asked him if I had missed a strike.
Yes, he said, the batter swung at the first pitch. As I had called the pitch a ball and I had not been asked to get help for the BU, my count of 1B & 2S was correct.

I believe I should have called the batter back and continued the count, I didn’t.

Is this correct, even though the opposition had taken the field.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1