The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 14, 2005, 10:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally posted by mbyron
Quote:
Originally posted by ozzy6900
You guys are just mincing words here and it is begining to smell!

Rich Ives gave you the answer to the situation that was posted. It is not a force out, it is forced action. You are getting hung up on words here. R3 must abandon 3rd base because of forced action of a bases loaded walk. His obligation is to touch the next base (home plate in this instance). If he fails in his duty, the defense can appeal by tagging R3 or with the ball in hand, touching home plate. It is a simple call!
Give me a break. It's not "mincing words" to distinguish two different cases. The original post asked whether R3 had to be tagged, and the general answer is: "it depends," not "no" as your post would have it. Rich gave the wrong answer for the situation, but at least he knows the general answer.
Go to the book or my post above and read the rule again.

The key words are

he fails to touch home base and makes no attempt to return to the base

As described, he was attempting to return so the "hold the ball on the plate" part does not apply. A tag is required.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1