![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
The rule states: OBR 7.09(i) - It is interference by a batter or a runner when, in the judgment of the umpire, the base coach at third base, or first base, by touching or holding the runner, physically assists him in returning to or leaving third base or first base. This is interference. Under the definition of interference (section 2), OBR says, On any interference the ball is dead. Exceptions are "batter's interference" with a runner stealing and "catcher's interference." But those exceptions are specifically addressed in the rule. So those rules are accurate. Such is not the case with 7.09(i). There is no mention of an exception with regards to a coach assisting a runner. So, by a strict reading of the rule book, one would logically come to the conclusion that this would cause a dead ball. Rick Roder says no. He says, "Interference by a coach for physically assisting a runner (7.09i) is grouped in a list of interferences that require a dead ball. However, by making the ball dead, the umpire risks disallowing other outs the defense might gain independent of the actions of offensive team personnel." The PBUC and MLB interpretation: The ball remains live. David Emerling Memphis, TN [Edited by David Emerling on Feb 11th, 2005 at 07:31 PM] |
Bookmarks |
|
|