The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 20, 2001, 12:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 25
Recently this play happened to me in a scrimmage. The pitcher was right handed and in the stretch. There were runners on first and second. The pitcher, with out stepping back off the rubber, spins toward first and throws the ball to second. Some may have called this a "inside move". I immediately balk the pitcher and move the runners. F1 then asks me what he did? I explain that if he is going to spin toward first to throw to second he must step off the back. He reluctantly agrees and continues on. Between innings the pitching coach comes over and asks me about my call. I explain it to him. He strongly disagrees. He says the move is legal. He says check it in the book. I cannot find in the book were it says I can call this a balk. Am I right or wrong? If so does a left hander have to step off when doing the same move with a runner on third? HELP!!!!!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1