Quote:
Originally posted by Dave Hensley
In the present situation we have both R1 and R2; the play you cite is for an R1 only, and is explaining why the move to 2B is not a balk for throwing to an unoccupied base. I think ump24 wants this to be balk for being a feint to 1B from the rubber.
|
Ok, I missed the extra runner. No problem. It still isn't a balk unless F1 hesitates to 1st. Simply passing first in turning that direction is NOT a balk, even WITHOUT R2, so it isn't likely to be one WITH R2. The rule reference is still relevant. The clear implication from this citation is that any hesitation toward 1st would be considered a feint and balked. The corollary is that with no hesitation, there is no balk.
From contact with the rubber the pitcher may do one of three(3) things, including step to a base and throw (or feint to throw except to first base). If F1 does NOT step toward 1st, or hesitate toward 1st while stepping to 2nd, he is performing a legal step and throw to 2nd base and so should not be balked. The direction of his TURN is irrelevant under the rules. What's more, if the bases were loaded and F1 turned the opposite way, but hesitated toward 3rd in his turn, I WOULD be tempted to call a balk for not stepping DIRECTLY to the base while in contact - same as for a 3-1 move where the pitcher doesn't disconnect the rubber during the feint to the initial base.
Bottom line, absent a hesitation to 1st on the turn I've got NOTHING.
Cheers,
[Edited by Warren Willson on Feb 20th, 2001 at 04:57 PM]