![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
"If a runner is forced to return to a base after a catch..." Is your runner forced to return to first? Answer: yes. Then: "He must retouch his original base even though, because of some ground rule or other rule, he is awarded additional bases." Is your runner going to be awarded additional bases? Answer: yus. So: "He may retouch while the ball is dead and the award is then made from his original base." Whether he retouches is his business. If he does, ok; if he doesn't, I'll call him out on appeal. He's standing on second; I'm going to do what the OBR says and award him third. My only point in this thread was: How in the world did those guys of the MLBUM ever get away with saying that R1 between second and third should get home unless he returns to first, when he now gets third. Imagine this situation occurring in your American Legion game: "You - home!" (To R1 between second and third) Assistant coach at first: "Bubba, you've got to tag up." So Bubba touches second, retouches first, touches second, touches third and heads home. Cleverly, following the MLBUM ruling, you stop him with: "You - third." About two minutes later, you're going to turn to the assistant offensive coach and say, just as cleverly: "You - showers!" |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|