The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 15, 2001, 12:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 243
Send a message via ICQ to Patrick Szalapski
Quote:
Originally posted by SamNVa
I'm going to go out on a limb (saw in hand) and say that if the runner, who had missesd the plate, tries to return and touch home, but does nottouch home before the third out is recorded, then the run does not score, but if he goes straight to the dugout and the defense does not appeal the miss of the plate, then the run scores.

There are two basic reasons for this view on my part. The first is that the rules/accepted interpretations state that if the runner tries to return and touch the plate, he is in fact trying to gain the base and must be tagged by the defense just as though he was approaching the plate from 3rd. If he touches the plate prior to the 3rd out the run scores, if he doesn't make it back to the plate prior to the third out, the run doesn't count. The rules also state that if he misses the base and doesn't try to return, then he can be called out on appeal, and a advantageous 4th out appeal can nullify the run if the defense is clever.

The second reason that I would rule this way is far more pragmatic. If the runner tries to return and touch the plate, he has, by his actions, announced for everyone to see that he missed the plate in the first place so his run was not legally scored prior to the third out being recorded, therefore I feel justified in not scoring the run. If he doesn't try to return, but instead heads for the dugout, then his actions imply that he believes the run was scored, so unless the defense is astute enough to appeal the missed base, I'm going to give him credit for the run.
I agree! That is the ruling that is apparent from everything we know. But here's the problem: we are PENALIZING the runner who tries to correct his mistake, and he has no chance of actually correcting the mistake! In fact, by trying to correct his error, he completely and with no chance of reprieve gives up the run. This happens at no other base and in no other situation, and it bugs me!

And Peter, I can appreciate your humor, but I hope you don't mislead anyone else on the board. Let it be known that the runner can NOT be called out for abandonment after he has passed home--unless he never touches the plate, returns toward third, and THEN abandons.

P-Sz
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1