The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 20, 2004, 07:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 555
Game plyed under OBR. BR singles to right, F9 fields ball and throws in to 2nd base. As the BR is rounding first, he runs into F3. It was a normal play and the BR was not advancing to second, just rounding the bag after the single.

OBR 7.06(b) states "If no play is being made on the obstructed runner, the play shall proceed until no further action is possible. The umpire shall then call "Time" and impose such penalties, if any, as in his judgment will nullify the act of obstruction."

Since the runner clearly would not have advanced to second, am I correct in keeping him at first even though he was obstructed rounding 1st?

If this happens under FED rules, this is an automatic award of second, correct?
__________________
Well I am certainly wiser than this man. It is only too likely that neither of us has any knowledge to boast of; but he thinks that he knows something which he does not know, whereas I am quite conscious of my ignorance. At any rate it seems that I am wiser than he is to this small extent, that I do not think that I know what I do not know. ~Socrates
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1