The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 13, 2004, 12:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 36
Question

I'm looking for clarification/confirmation on the Infield Fly Rule.

In review of the OBR definition of terms with regards to the infield fly rule it states in part "The ball is alive and runners may advance at the risk of the ball being caught, or retouch and advance after the ball is touched, the same as on any fly ball."

My question is, Does the phrase "after the ball is touched" apply even if ball drops to the ground untouched and stays in fair territory?

Example: R1 and R2, no outs. BR hits high pop fly in infield. Infield Fly is called. F6 calls for the catch, but looses the ball in the sun and it drops untouched in fair territory to the ground and remains in fair territory.

In this scenario the runners need to retouch their bases, correct?

Thanks in advance for your help.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1