The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 16, 2004, 10:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Quote:
Originally posted by southump
Appleshigh, yes you are right. Twobits, I forgot to add I enjoyed your post.
I guess I was too subtle.

While you are correct under OBR, Under FED Rules, neither of you are right and this list covers both sets of rules.

See FED 7-3-2. The batter shall not hit the ball fair or foul while eihter foot is touching the ground completely outside the lines of the batter's box OR TOUCHING HOME PLATE.


Peanlty...the batter is out.
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 16, 2004, 10:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 301
up in the great white north

We don't have FED, s I always forget yall have different rule sets.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 16, 2004, 01:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 335
With no runners on base, it is a ball if the pitcher starts his/her windup and then stops. FALSE, but this is TRUE in both baseball and softball if the league is using high school rules. See high school baseball rule 6-1-2 Penalty & high school softball rule 6-1-2a Penalty.

Why is this true?? If batter request time and it is granted, pitcher stops while in windup, this is nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 19, 2004, 12:28am
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally posted by scyguy
If batter request time and it is granted, pitcher stops while in windup, this is nothing.
As PU, I would not grant time if the batter requested, and pitcher was already in the windup. If he stops his windup in mid, it is only because he did not notice I called time.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 19, 2004, 11:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 335
DG you are a better man than I. If pitcher starts, then time is requested and I grant it, pitcher stops, I have nothing. Sometimes time can be requested the very moment the pitcher starts motion, by the time it gets out of my mouth, pitcher is in the process. It happens. Grant time, do not pentalize pitcher.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 19, 2004, 12:08pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
scguy - you missed my point. "If pitcher starts, then time is requested" I don't grant it because it's too late. I'm not penalizing the pitcher. He can throw a strike and I will call it. If the batter requests time, I grant it, and the pitcher starts his motion afterwards, or simultaenously (ie "by the time it gets out of my mouth"), then I have nothing if he stops because time was called.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 19, 2004, 12:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 335
cool, we see it the same. I guess I read something into want you said. My apologizes.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1