The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 06, 2004, 08:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 252
Fed rule only

Situation 1

B3 on third heads for home. Pitcher who is on mound steps towards home and throws to cathcer without starting any preliminary motions and without coming to a complete stop. B3 is thrown out at home.

Is this a balk(and if so please tell me which Fed rule to look up)? I feel that it should not be a balk since the pitcher has a right to step towards a bag(in this case home) while a runner is advancing to that bag

Situation 2- Assume situation 1. Assume, if we can, that situation 1 is not a balk. The batter hits the ball from the throw of the pitcher who is trying to retire R3 going home. How do we deal with this situation since F1 is not technically pitching the ball but is rather throwing the ball to retire B3 coming home?

Thanks,

Greg

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1