Quote:
Originally posted by Gre144
Here is my problem. A pitcher who is in the set position while on the mound can do the following:
1) Step towards first while throwing the ball to F3 with R1 on first
2) Can step towards second while R1 advancing towards second
3) Can step towards third while R2 is advancing towards thirds
Logic tells us that he should be able to step towards home while R3 is advancing towards home without disengaging.
Greg
|
Faulty logic.
Forget the specific rule for a second. Pitcher's are not allowed to illegally deceive a runner, right?
Now then, if a pitcher in the set position, in contact with the rubber, could step and "throw" to home as well as step and "pitch" to home, how could a runner differentiate between the two?