Thread: Balk?
View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 07, 2004, 06:34am
ozzy6900 ozzy6900 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 2,439
Quote:
Originally posted by Gre144
Fed rule only

B3 on third heads for home. Pitcher who is on mound steps towards home and throws to cathcer without starting any preliminary motions and without coming to a complete stop. B3 is thrown out at home.

You are leaving out a very important detail here Gre144 and that is was the pitcher on the rubber? In FED, the pitching restrictions start as soon as the pitcher makes contact with the rubber for the purpose of making a pitch.

So if in fact the pitcher was legally on the rubber, he must step off (legally) in order to "throw" the ball to the catcher. Any movement toward the plate while in contact with the rubber forces the pitcher to pitch the ball to the batter.

In your situation #1 I have a balk. There is no situation #2 in this case.

Now in OBR, the pitching restrictions are in effect once the pitcher comes to set. SO up to that point, the pitcher can in fact "throw" the ball to the catcher.
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out!
Ozzy
Reply With Quote