The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 21, 2021, 12:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 71
High school DH rule - re entry question

I think I am pretty sure the answer but wanted to check for clarification as I have had a little trouble finding it online.

High School NFHS - DH rule

Player is listed as DH, hitting for the SS - 4th inning, tight game, DH who doesnt have much speed singles. If the SS were to enter the game offensively for the DH to pinch run, the use of designated hitter is done for the game and now the SS takes that spot in the order.

Im 99.9% sure when the spot comes around again say in the 6th, the original DH could re-enter into that batting order spot (though not as the DH (since usage now done), he would assume a defensive position potentially at this point) and hit since the DH was a starter and is coming in with normal re-entry rule. What I am unclear about is whether then when the team goes back out on defense the next inning, could the SS then "re-enter" to play defense? Since both were starters, do both get 1 "re-entry"? The player who was DH, subbed to run, then hit, then out again would be done for the day I know that.

Last edited by parrothead; Sun Mar 21, 2021 at 12:51pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 21, 2021, 04:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,426
Quote:
Originally Posted by parrothead View Post
I think I am pretty sure the answer but wanted to check for clarification as I have had a little trouble finding it online.

High School NFHS - DH rule

Player is listed as DH, hitting for the SS - 4th inning, tight game, DH who doesnt have much speed singles. If the SS were to enter the game offensively for the DH to pinch run, the use of designated hitter is done for the game and now the SS takes that spot in the order.

Im 99.9% sure when the spot comes around again say in the 6th, the original DH could re-enter into that batting order spot (though not as the DH (since usage now done), he would assume a defensive position potentially at this point) and hit since the DH was a starter and is coming in with normal re-entry rule. What I am unclear about is whether then when the team goes back out on defense the next inning, could the SS then "re-enter" to play defense? Since both were starters, do both get 1 "re-entry"? The player who was DH, subbed to run, then hit, then out again would be done for the day I know that.
Yes to all the above.

See 3.1.4C (2017 reference) for most of it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High school rule ???? big jake Basketball 1 Sat Dec 08, 2012 11:36am
Rule question High school mean Gene Football 3 Tue Oct 02, 2012 05:02pm
Help with a High School rule goodsir Football 52 Wed Nov 11, 2009 06:21pm
HIGH SCHOOL BASKETBALL RULE QUESTION??? Tony Parker Basketball 5 Tue Feb 01, 2005 03:20pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1