The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 04, 2019, 06:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,772
Batter HBP

Mainly NFHS rules but has criteria changed for batter avoiding the pitch? I know college has changed but didnít see anything in FED. Batter ducks to avoid high curve ball and pitch hits in helmet not a strike. My partner calls time puts BR on first. I thought it was correct I was just wondering if that was still correct. I know if pitch was a strike he could call a strike but pitch was still outside zone from what he said later. Just wanted to see.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 04, 2019, 09:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,195
Quote:
Originally Posted by David B View Post
Mainly NFHS rules but has criteria changed for batter avoiding the pitch? I know college has changed but didnít see anything in FED. Batter ducks to avoid high curve ball and pitch hits in helmet not a strike. My partner calls time puts BR on first. I thought it was correct I was just wondering if that was still correct. I know if pitch was a strike he could call a strike but pitch was still outside zone from what he said later. Just wanted to see.
Pitch was out of the zone.

Batter tried to avoid by ducking.

Pitch hit him.

Why is it an issue?
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 04, 2019, 11:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,772
Not really an issue

I didnít think it was an issue but the coach confronted my partner and wanted to know how we put him on first because he didnít try to avoid the pitch. My answer was simple its a curve ball and he was trying to avoid by ducking.

I know Iíve seen several in college this year hit and left in the box with their new rule. I just had not seen anything in FED.

Thanks
David
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 05, 2019, 07:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by David B View Post
I didn’t think it was an issue but the coach confronted my partner and wanted to know how we put him on first because he didn’t try to avoid the pitch.
Sure... a player "permits a ball to hit him" (to use the FED wording) in the head. the coach is fishing, and it's not going to last long or end well. Even in college this is a HBP.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 05, 2019, 11:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Sure... a player "permits a ball to hit him" (to use the FED wording) in the head. the coach is fishing, and it's not going to last long or end well. Even in college this is a HBP.
Thanks Rich and Bob. Confirms what I was thinking I was just gonna check to be certain nothing had changed. Basically itís the umpires opinion anyway that matters of course 🤓🤓
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batter Leaves the batter's box & HBP jdmara Baseball 34 Fri Jul 05, 2013 04:14pm
Lead-off Batter = On-Deck Batter? Manny A Softball 14 Thu Apr 11, 2013 11:27am
Fastpitch: Batter's Location in Batter's Box Compared to Plate SoftballGuy247 Softball 43 Fri Mar 30, 2012 10:32am
how to catch batter being out of batter's box bniu Softball 28 Fri Jun 26, 2009 09:36pm
How to catch batter being out of batter's box bkbjones Softball 6 Wed Jun 03, 2009 04:45pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1