The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 27, 2019, 06:50pm
I got a Basketball Jones!
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Hunger
Posts: 882
MLB Nats vs Padres 4-27

top of 10th, bases loaded, padres hitter sends fly to left field, caught for out. Throw towards home plate is muffed by catcher toward visitor's dugout. Catcher pursues, gets control of ball with 1 foot inside dugout, momentum causes him to land with both feet in dugout, still in possession of ball..

Please discuss proper administration after first runner scores from 3rd.

This resulted in a 6+ minute delay while umps conferred and consulted with replay officials twice.

Thanks
__________________
Lah me..
(In honor of Jurassic Ref, R.I.P.)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 27, 2019, 07:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 756
Quote:
Originally Posted by justacoach View Post
top of 10th, bases loaded, padres hitter sends fly to left field, caught for out. Throw towards home plate is muffed by catcher toward visitor's dugout. Catcher pursues, gets control of ball with 1 foot inside dugout, momentum causes him to land with both feet in dugout, still in possession of ball..

Please discuss proper administration after first runner scores from 3rd.

This resulted in a 6+ minute delay while umps conferred and consulted with replay officials twice.

Thanks
The ball becomes dead if a fielder steps into the dugout with one foot or both. It's a recent change to OBR. There is a semantic problem in that it only references doing that after a catch but I think any step into the dugout would make the ball dead and a two base award, correction one base award, at the time of step. But the lip of the dugout is not considered the dugout, it is considered part of the playing filed. So after viewing the play the ball did not did not go out of play but the fielder stepped into the dugout and it's a one base award. It's called catch and carry and the rule only references a fielder going into the dugout or dead ball territory with a catch but I think any possession of the ball does not allow a fielder to step into dead ball territory which the dugout now is.

Last edited by umpjim; Sat Apr 27, 2019 at 07:34pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 28, 2019, 07:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,041
I think the "catch" part of "catch and carry" refers only to a fly ball. This is just a ball thrown out of play.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bucs vs Nats...attempted advance toward 2nd? rbmartin Baseball 15 Sun Jul 28, 2013 06:28pm
Dodgers vs Nats - Ump allegedly apologizes for missed call.... grunewar Baseball 3 Fri Sep 21, 2012 05:46pm
ASA Nats.......... derwil Softball 20 Wed May 18, 2011 10:05am
PU's shoes in tonights Nats vs Braves game kylejt Baseball 15 Fri Jun 06, 2008 12:08pm
Padres vs Rockies 4-18-06 jwwashburn Baseball 8 Wed Apr 19, 2006 10:49am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1