The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 15, 2018, 01:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Just for clarity, RLI has a different effect from other INT plays.
Because the BR hasn't reached 1B. Double play INT also has the same effect.

"PENALTY FOR INTERFERENCE: The runner is out
and the ball is dead.
If the umpire declares the batter, batter-runner, or a runner
out for interference, all other runners shall return to the last
base that was in the judgment of the umpire, legally touched at
the time of the interference, unless otherwise provided by these
rules. (Definition of Terms (Interference))
In the event the batter-runner has not reached first base,
all runners shall return to the base last occupied at the time of
the pitch; provided, however, if during an intervening play at the
plate with less than two outs a runner scores, and then the batterrunner
is called out for interference outside the three-foot lane,
the runner is safe and the run shall count. (Definition of Terms
(Interference) Comment)"
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 15, 2018, 01:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
The announcer is incorrect. Catcher's Interference is the proper term for anything other than NFHS rules (obstruction only involves a fielder impeding a runner attempting to reach a base), and it is a delayed dead ball (umpires wait to see what happened, and then award bases based on what occurred). Unlike balks, where the outcome is automatic (either every runner, including the batter-runner, advances safely at least one base as permitted by rule, or the balk penalty is enforced (the pitch, if any, does not count, and all runners advance one base), there is an option for the manager to either enforce the catcher's interference penalty (the batter is awarded 1st base, runners advance 1 base if forced, and any runners who are stealing are awarded the base that they were trying to steal) or accept the result of the play. There is a special case with a runner trying to score from 3rd that is both catcher's interference and a balk (catcher [or another fielder] steps in front of home plate without the ball, or touches the batter, including his bat), and is enforced as both (the ball is dead immediately, the runner from 3rd is awarded home plate,the batter is awarded 1st base, and all other runners advance as if it was a balk).
The announcer probably was clueless but he also might have seen Layne kill it almost right away with a live ball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cal Ripken Baseball Rule Clarification jhart2315 Baseball 2 Tue Jun 27, 2017 04:05pm
Of All People Adam Basketball 5 Sun Dec 13, 2009 08:26am
Official are only people skipwkk Football 6 Mon Oct 06, 2008 01:50pm
People Skills... ROMANO Basketball 6 Fri Mar 07, 2003 03:26pm
People Skills... oatmealqueen Basketball 134 Sun Mar 02, 2003 11:23pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1