![]() |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If the batter interferes with the catcher's throw back to the pitcher by stepping out of the batter's box while at bat (no runners attempting to advance), it shall not be considered interference under Official Baseball Rule 6.06(c). In such cases, the umpire shall call "Time" only (no interference). The ball is dead and no runner shall advance on the play. This interpretation does not, of course, give the batter license to interfere intentionally with the catcher's throw back to the pitcher, and in such cases the batter shall be called out. If the batter becomes a runner on ball four and the catcher's throw strikes him or his bat, the ball remains alive and in play (provided no intentional interference by the batter-runner). If the batter interferes with the catcher's throw to retire a runner by stepping out of the batter's box, interference shall be called on the batter under Official Baseball Rule 6.06(c). (See Section 6.8.) However, if the batter is standing in the batter's box and he or his bat is struck by the catcher's throw back to the pitcher (or throw in attempting to retire a runner) and, in the umpire's judgment, there is no intent on the part of the batter to interfere with the throw, the ball is alive and in play. |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Throw from F2 hits batter's bat on backswing - Call? | teebob21 | Softball | 41 | Thu Jul 06, 2017 08:48am |
| Ball hits batter | Blueplate | Softball | 16 | Thu Apr 06, 2017 03:26pm |
| Bunt hits batter!!! | WayneG | Baseball | 65 | Mon Apr 09, 2007 10:26pm |
| 3rd strike dropped hits me, hits batter out of box | chuck chopper | Softball | 8 | Sat May 07, 2005 01:21am |
| batter hits ball after hits ground | kfinucan | Softball | 13 | Sun Jun 29, 2003 09:29pm |