The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2018, 01:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 480
NFHS - Pitching change

FED rules. Starting pitcher and shortstop switch places after a mound visit with 1 out in the 5th inning.
Under what conditions, if any, may he be allowed to switch back to pitcher with 2 outs in the 7th inning?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2018, 08:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,804
If F1 was removed because of the number of visits, or if R6 required more than 8 warm up pitches, or if F1's return violates some state pitch-count rule, then the second switch is prohibited. Otherwise, it's allowed.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2018, 09:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 399
I would add that if the (original) pitcher was substituted for, and he re-enters in his proper place in the order, he may return to pitch, if he was not removed from the mound due to excess mound visits, or other violations of pitching rules previously mentioned.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 11, 2018, 06:26am
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 998
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
I would add that if the (original) pitcher was substituted for, and he re-enters in his proper place in the order, he may return to pitch, if he was not removed from the mound due to excess mound visits, or other violations of pitching rules previously mentioned.
I saw this last night in a state semi-final game. It caused some consternation by the offense, but was properly allowed by the crew.

In FED, a pitcher may leave the mound and return once per *inning*, subject to the restrictions listed above.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 11, 2018, 01:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 480
So as long as the pitching change occurs after the 1st or 2nd charged conference, its legal. After the 3rd of more charged conference, not permitted (rule 3 sec 4 art 1...After three charged conferences in a seven-inning game, or for any charged conference in excess of one in each extra inning, the pitcher shall be removed as pitcher for duration of the game.) ...not permitted. Correct?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 11, 2018, 02:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 399
Removing a pitcher does not count as a trip for the purposes of the charged conferences rule, so it might not be surprising to see a formerly-removed pitcher return to the mound, if he is still allowed to by pitch-count or other considerations.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 11, 2018, 08:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 507
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbmartin View Post
So as long as the pitching change occurs after the 1st or 2nd charged conference, its legal. After the 3rd of more charged conference, not permitted (rule 3 sec 4 art 1...After three charged conferences in a seven-inning game, or for any charged conference in excess of one in each extra inning, the pitcher shall be removed as pitcher for duration of the game.) ...not permitted. Correct?
There's a couple things going on here. If a coach or player requests time and is granted it to confer, that's a conference if they don't change pitchers. After 3 (or 1 in extras), they'd have to change pitchers every time. That's where all the rules you quoted come into play.

HOWEVER, if the shortstop and the pitcher merely switched positions without delaying the game (having time called, taking more than 20 seconds to deliver the next pitch, etc), then that's a whole different thing. That's not a conference, and the pitcher not only could do that every inning, but could even come back to pitch that inning. But could only return to pitcher once per inning. So there's the conference provision (by far the most common) but if they just quickly switch positions in some pre-planned rotation without calling time or otherwise delaying, then we're fine.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 12, 2018, 06:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbmartin View Post
So as long as the pitching change occurs after the 1st or 2nd charged conference, its legal. After the 3rd of more charged conference, not permitted (rule 3 sec 4 art 1...After three charged conferences in a seven-inning game, or for any charged conference in excess of one in each extra inning, the pitcher shall be removed as pitcher for duration of the game.) ...not permitted. Correct?
Generally right -- but the numbers are (or might be) off. The team gets three "free" conferences -- so it's on the fourth visit and subsequent that the pitcher can't return.

Quote:
Originally Posted by scrounge View Post
There's a couple things going on here. If a coach or player requests time and is granted it to confer, that's a conference if they don't change pitchers. After 3 (or 1 in extras), they'd have to change pitchers every time. That's where all the rules you quoted come into play.

HOWEVER, if the shortstop and the pitcher merely switched positions without delaying the game (having time called, taking more than 20 seconds to deliver the next pitch, etc), then that's a whole different thing. That's not a conference, and the pitcher not only could do that every inning, but could even come back to pitch that inning. But could only return to pitcher once per inning. So there's the conference provision (by far the most common) but if they just quickly switch positions in some pre-planned rotation without calling time or otherwise delaying, then we're fine.
The shortstop (and the returning pitcher, for that matter) still get eight warmups -- so the 20-second rule doesn't come into play here.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 12, 2018, 01:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 507
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post

The shortstop (and the returning pitcher, for that matter) still get eight warmups -- so the 20-second rule doesn't come into play here.
I meant if they take more than 20 seconds lollygagging around before making the switch known.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 16, 2018, 01:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 519
Quote:
Originally Posted by scrounge View Post
There's a couple things going on here. If a coach or player requests time and is granted it to confer, that's a conference if they don't change pitchers. .
2-10 says charged conference occurs when a coach OR his non-playing representative AND a player of the team....

So how would F6 calling time to come talk to F1 be a charged conference? Am I misunderstanding what you're saying?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 16, 2018, 04:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 399
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
2-10 says charged conference occurs when a coach OR his non-playing representative AND a player of the team....

So how would F6 calling time to come talk to F1 be a charged conference? Am I misunderstanding what you're saying?
This is one of the big differences between NFHS and OBR. In OBR, if the shortstop talks to a coach on the way to see F1, then the coach will be considered as having talked to the pitcher, and the visit will count as the 1 allowed visit to the current pitcher in that inning.

However, because NFHS restricts the defensive team to 3 conferences without removing the pitcher per 7 innings, it makes sense that the rule on conferences is more permissive (only coaches are counted for the purposes of charging a conference).
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 16, 2018, 04:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 507
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
2-10 says charged conference occurs when a coach OR his non-playing representative AND a player of the team....

So how would F6 calling time to come talk to F1 be a charged conference? Am I misunderstanding what you're saying?
nah, you're pretty much right, got too quick on the keyboard....unless you think they're using a player to be a conduit to get around the conference rule, that wouldn't be one
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 16, 2018, 06:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
This is one of the big differences between NFHS and OBR. In OBR, if the shortstop talks to a coach on the way to see F1, then the coach will be considered as having talked to the pitcher, and the visit will count as the 1 allowed visit to the current pitcher in that inning.
That's also going to count as a visit in FED -- even before F6 talks to the pitcher.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 16, 2018, 07:25pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,409
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
That's also going to count as a visit in FED -- even before F6 talks to the pitcher.
Yup. It's a defensive conference, after all.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pitching Change onetime1 Baseball 4 Mon Apr 22, 2013 09:05am
Pitching Change outathm Softball 9 Tue Jun 26, 2012 12:17pm
Pitching Change Situation rocks99 Baseball 11 Thu Sep 20, 2007 10:30pm
Pitching Change etn_ump Baseball 5 Thu May 10, 2007 07:44am
protocol during pitching change John Robertson Softball 39 Tue Jun 28, 2005 12:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1