![]() |
|
|
|||
When is a sub the pitcher?
Last night, High School Varsity, NFHS rules
At beginning of the new inning, home team takes the field. F2 was on base, so slow in coming onto the field. Substitute S1 comes to the pitchers mound and stands behind the rubber waiting for F2. S1 has not been reported to PU as a substitute yet. After about 30 seconds home coach comes to the PU and asks if S1 is in the game? Does he have to face a batter? Coach has changed his mind or maybe S1 thought coach was putting him in and he came out without instructions... Partner and I discussed, decided since 1) he did not toe the rubber or throw warm-up pitches, and 2) he was not reported as a sub. We ruled he was not in the game and did not have to face a batter. The coach then put the F1 continuing from the previous inning on the mound. When does S1 become the new F1? When does he become the new pitcher and is required to face a batter? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
If he is on the rubber when "Play" is called, he is a pitcher.
If he throws more than 8 warmup pitches (he entered because F1 was injured/ejected, or the plate umpire decided to allow extra warmup pitches), the substitute is now the pitcher, and the original pitcher must re-enter later. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Keep in mind that the warm-up pitch limitation specifies "substitute." If he never becomes a substitute, then the pitches he throws are irrelevant. Also keep in mind that if F1 was injured or ejected, PU better be having a conversation with his HC to get the situation (in the case of an injury) and substitute. If I see a new arm out there in any circumstance, I validate the substitution--sometimes it's not a straight switch, particularly in HS ball.
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?" |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Would you mind citing the rule you are using regarding warm up pitches? And read @Matt's post before you do. Last edited by umpjim; Wed Apr 25, 2018 at 11:30pm. |
|
|||
So I think the rule I'm asking about is not 3.1.1 but 3.1.2.
If a pitcher is replaced while his team is on defense, the pitcher shall (complete the current at bat, paraphrase from the complete rule, please forgive me)... When is he "replaced". If the coach has a conference mid inning, takes the ball from the pitcher and gives it to the shortstop, when does F6 become F1 in terms of 3.1.2. In my neck of the woods, when there is just a position swap, the coach will not make a report of this change to the umpire. If previous F6 takes the rubber and starts warming up, is he required to face a batter? Or as UMPJM points out, he isn't the pitcher till the ball is placed in play. Could the coach watch old F6 warm up, decide after 5 warmup pitches that he doesn't have the "stuff" today and then give the ball to F4? Ween does F6 become the new F1, and under 3.1.2 he is required to face one batter? When the coach hands him the ball?, When he starts throwing warmup pitches? or when warmup is complete and the umpire puts the ball in play? So, the core of my question is, under 3.1.2, when is a pitcher "replaced"? My OP had the additional detail that the potential new pitcher was a potential unreported sub, but since ball has not been put in play, it is nothing and the coach pulled him back off the field before the ball was made live or he was reported, so that was nothing. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
New Pitcher??? | DRJ1960 | Softball | 20 | Sun May 12, 2013 10:44pm |
NFHS - Pitcher "juggling" the ball while on the pitcher's plate. | marvin | Softball | 3 | Thu Apr 26, 2012 09:25am |
DH and pitcher both bat | JJ | Baseball | 3 | Tue Aug 03, 2004 07:27am |
Pitcher | Big Man | Baseball | 6 | Tue May 20, 2003 03:32pm |
Pitcher Can | Larry | Softball | 3 | Wed Jun 19, 2002 11:48pm |