The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 24, 2018, 03:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 80
Fielder Interference on return to base

Man between 3rd and home (doesnt really matter where) caught in a rundown, on his way BACK to 3rd, F5 blocks his path by standing in the baseline (without the ball) making the runner alter his slide back into 3rd. I believe this is clearly interference on F5, does the runner get home, or does he get automatic safe back to 3rd, since that is the base he was attempting to return to? Or, since technically the runner has already occupied 3rd base, he gets "1 base awarded" so 3+1 = Home?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 24, 2018, 04:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSBAL18 View Post
Man between 3rd and home (doesnt really matter where) caught in a rundown, on his way BACK to 3rd, F5 blocks his path by standing in the baseline (without the ball) making the runner alter his slide back into 3rd. I believe this is clearly interference on F5, does the runner get home, or does he get automatic safe back to 3rd, since that is the base he was attempting to return to? Or, since technically the runner has already occupied 3rd base, he gets "1 base awarded" so 3+1 = Home?
Home.

And it's officially obstruction.

When obstruction occurs, the umpire shall call or signal
“Obstruction.”
(1) If a play is being made on the obstructed runner, or if the
batter-runner is obstructed before he touches first base,
the ball is dead and all runners shall advance, without liability
to be put out, to the bases they would have reached,
in the umpire’s judgment, if there had been no obstruction.
The obstructed runner shall be awarded at least one
base beyond the base he had last legally touched before
the obstruction.
Any preceding runners, forced to
advance by the award of bases as the penalty for obstruction,
shall advance without liability to be put out.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
legal tag of first base by fielder sblood Softball 6 Sat Jun 25, 2011 03:50pm
Interference by fielder question. mikew4242 Baseball 9 Wed May 10, 2006 12:39pm
Double Base ASA - Fielder Drawn to fastpitch Softball 8 Wed Mar 22, 2006 07:39am
Return to Double Base tzme415 Softball 14 Fri Aug 05, 2005 01:30pm
Runner Interference With No Fielder Nearby Dave Sirbu Baseball 1 Sat Sep 02, 2000 04:55pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1