The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 15, 2017, 08:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 89
Official Scorebook Record

Interesting situation....

Runner on 2nd, batter hits a lazy fly ball behind the pitchers mound. F6 dives for the ball and i call a trap (Call safe, point to ground a few times, repeat safe call). BR thinks he is out (since no one cares to check the umpire's sign) and peels off before getting to first base and goes directly to the dugout. R2 is now on third, and since he saw BR go back into dugout, takes off back to 2nd. haha

So end of play, R2 remains at 2nd, and i told the scorebook scorer that since the runner did not run to first base, it is *not* a single and then out-by-abandonment. But then i didnt know what to tell him how to score it...

A) if the runner had got to first.. i assume single and then ?what? for the out?
B) Since runner never touched first, i assume NO single,,, but then ?what? for the out record?

Would that just be counted as a 3-unassisted? I searched Google and didnt find too much on it.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 15, 2017, 09:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,567
The scoring rules do not seem to cover "abandonment." Then again, only a runner who has reached first can abandon.

Other scoring rules credit F2 with the putout when a runner refuses to advance to first, and credit the nearest fielder when a runner is out for passing, etc.

So, I'd go ahead and give F2 the putout in your situation.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 15, 2017, 10:18am
LRZ LRZ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: SE PA
Posts: 767
Unless there were implications for a run counting or a similar issue, why would you, as the umpire, care how it is scored?

Last edited by LRZ; Fri Sep 15, 2017 at 10:21am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 15, 2017, 10:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by LRZ View Post
Unless there were implications for a run counting or a similar issue, why would you, as the umpire, care how it is scored?
Because some of us have a natural curiosity. Because sometimes we get asked by "mom the scorekeeper" and it's nice to be able to give an answer.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 15, 2017, 11:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 764
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSBAL18 View Post
Interesting situation....

Runner on 2nd, batter hits a lazy fly ball behind the pitchers mound. F6 dives for the ball and i call a trap (Call safe, point to ground a few times, repeat safe call). BR thinks he is out (since no one cares to check the umpire's sign) and peels off before getting to first base and goes directly to the dugout. R2 is now on third, and since he saw BR go back into dugout, takes off back to 2nd. haha

So end of play, R2 remains at 2nd, and i told the scorebook scorer that since the runner did not run to first base, it is *not* a single and then out-by-abandonment. But then i didnt know what to tell him how to score it...

A) if the runner had got to first.. i assume single and then ?what? for the out?
B) Since runner never touched first, i assume NO single,,, but then ?what? for the out record?

Would that just be counted as a 3-unassisted? I searched Google and didnt find too much on it.
Wouldn't that be a call "no catch" signal safe? If there was no verbal what the players did would be understandable at lower levels.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 16, 2017, 04:58pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Because some of us have a natural curiosity. Because sometimes we get asked by "mom the scorekeeper" and it's nice to be able to give an answer.


As well as for trivia questons:

1) What is the maximum number of hits can a baseball team get in an inning and not score any runs?

2) What is the maximum number of hits can a fast pitch softball team get in an inning and not score any runs?

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 17, 2017, 09:49am
JJ JJ is offline
Veteran College Umpire
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: IN
Posts: 1,122
....waiting.....tick....tick....tick.....

JJ
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 17, 2017, 04:14pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJ View Post
....waiting.....tick....tick....tick.....

JJ

1) Six hits in a baseball game.

2) Three hits in a fast pitch softball game.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 18, 2017, 05:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 772
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
1) Six hits in a baseball game.

2) Three hits in a fast pitch softball game.

MTD, Sr.
While I can't speak to the baseball side, I think this answer ignores a FP runner being picked off or caught stealing. Softball scoring also grants a hit to the batter if they would have reached safely absent any interference.

Third World Softball brings you the following:
B1: Singles to the outfield.
--B1 picked off at 1B (2-3 out)
B2: Singles to the outfield.
--B2 caught stealing 2B. (2-6 out)
B3: Singles to the outfield.
B4: Singles to the infield; B3 advances to 2B.
B5: Singles to the infield; B3 advances to 3B, B4 advances to 2B.
B6: Hits a ball through the infield, runners advance; B4 called out for INT with a defender as the ball is thrown from the outfield to F5 for a force attempt at 3B.

I got six hits in softball.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
"I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean."

Last edited by teebob21; Mon Sep 18, 2017 at 05:36pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 18, 2017, 08:04pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by teebob21 View Post
While I can't speak to the baseball side, I think this answer ignores a FP runner being picked off or caught stealing. Softball scoring also grants a hit to the batter if they would have reached safely absent any interference.

Third World Softball brings you the following:
B1: Singles to the outfield.
--B1 picked off at 1B (2-3 out)
B2: Singles to the outfield.
--B2 caught stealing 2B. (2-6 out)
B3: Singles to the outfield.
B4: Singles to the infield; B3 advances to 2B.
B5: Singles to the infield; B3 advances to 3B, B4 advances to 2B.
B6: Hits a ball through the infield, runners advance; B4 called out for INT with a defender as the ball is thrown from the outfield to F5 for a force attempt at 3B.

I got six hits in softball.

I never thought of your scenario but then B6 is not credited with a single but she advances to 1B on a fielder's choice.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 18, 2017, 11:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
I never thought of your scenario but then B6 is not credited with a single but she advances to 1B on a fielder's choice.

MTD, Sr.
B6: Ground ball toward infielder (say F6) and B4 is struck by ball prior to ball getting to F6. Yes / No??
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 18, 2017, 11:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 772
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbie View Post
B6: Ground ball toward infielder (say F6) and B4 is struck by ball prior to ball getting to F6. Yes / No??
(Not to derail a baseball thread but) It appears I was not entirely correct in a previous post. Different codes award this hit differently. ASA says no: 11-3-D. NCAA says yes: 14.3.12.

I am still interested in hearing how the baseball sequence would be different than a FP softball inning. Regardless, I've got five hits minimum in a FP SB scoreless inning...and I guarantee you I've seen it before.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
"I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean."

Last edited by teebob21; Tue Sep 19, 2017 at 12:02am.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 19, 2017, 08:25pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by teebob21 View Post
(Not to derail a baseball thread but) It appears I was not entirely correct in a previous post. Different codes award this hit differently. ASA says no: 11-3-D. NCAA says yes: 14.3.12.

I am still interested in hearing how the baseball sequence would be different than a FP softball inning. Regardless, I've got five hits minimum in a FP SB scoreless inning...and I guarantee you I've seen it before.


When a Runner commits interference, the Runner is out, all Runners return to the Base they occupied at the ToP except if their are forced to advanced because of the Batter aquiring 1B. But in Baseball the Batter is credited with a Single, while in Fast Pitch Softball, the Batter aquires 1B on a Fielder's Choice.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coach calls out "JV official" in tourney game, on the record bainsey Basketball 35 Thu Mar 13, 2014 03:06pm
Scorebook Dbyb Basketball 24 Thu Feb 17, 2011 08:48am
Official's Record Book IREFU2 Basketball 2 Wed Mar 22, 2006 01:02pm
Scorebook truerookie Basketball 21 Fri Oct 14, 2005 12:53pm
Players in Official Scorebook cford Basketball 61 Thu Jan 27, 2005 07:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1