The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 12, 2017, 01:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 90
NFHS Fielder acting as if an Error occurred

I am reading the NFHS case book, and 6.2.4 Situation E is "With R1 on second base, F1 wheels and fakes a throw to second on a pickkoff attempt. As R1 dives back into the base, F4 and F6 run into short center field and act like an overthrow occurred, R1 Seeing this, takes off for third base and gets thrown out by F1: RULING: This is legal and not considered unsportsmanlike conduct."


So my question is... If a fielder at a base fakes taking a throw (or fakes a tag) the rule is obstruction, but this "trickery" by the infield is allowed? Just trying to make sure i clearly understand situations that may occur... Thanks for any help
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When has the gather occurred? Coach Bill Basketball 13 Sun Jan 15, 2017 10:16pm
Is NFHS Case Book Play 2.10.1 Sit. G(d) (re: corr. error situation) really an error? rpirtle Basketball 3 Wed Dec 24, 2008 03:25pm
New NFHS Fielder Obstruction Tim C Baseball 21 Thu Jan 24, 2008 04:46pm
acting up? oatmealqueen Basketball 29 Sat Jul 17, 2004 02:59pm
Help with a situation that occurred last night in my league softballpres33 Softball 9 Sat Jul 12, 2003 01:17am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1