![]() |
|
|
|||
MLB screw up
Just watching Royals versus Rangers. Ranger player hits a pop up 12" foul where the fielder touches it and then it lands fair. Originally called a foul ball, but after umpires conferred, called it a fair ball. How is this possible? Does MLB have some strange rule?
|
|
|||
MLB (and NCAA) does NOT have the "once called foul it must remain foul" rule like FED does (that is, they have instances where there this is NOT true). Beyond that, we'd need a better description or video.
|
|
|||
PU declares the ball foul... However he is standing to the left of the catcher, who is standing to the foul side of the foul line..... U3 is straddling the foul line with a perfect view of the ball versus foul line.....
Camera angle and angle of the PU are not reliable in this situation. |
|
|||
Its not a theory. it's fact....
someone looking straight down the line as U3 was has a better look than where the PU was..... As far as the camera angle goes..... The camera is not looking straight down the line and the view is distorted. Same as a look at the strike zone from the outfield camera. Last edited by asdf; Sun Jul 31, 2016 at 11:01am. |
|
|||
His feet have nothing to do with fair/foul.
|
|
|||
I know THAT. I was just saying if you can't trust camera angles, look where his feet were and his glove was directly above his feet. Ball was touched in foul territory the way it appeared.
|
|
|||
While the ball may have been touched in foul territory, U3 judged part of it was over fair territory when touched.
|
|
|||
The pop up was in the infield. Couldn't be changed in FED no matter what. Couldn't be changed in NCAA I think by rule. Couldn't be replay reviewed in OBR. Did not meet the only MLB criteria I know of (no one reacted to the foul call). But it was the perfect circumstance where 8.02(c)/9.02(c) could be used to change the call and nobody argued. Yost accepted the explanation that I assume was made. PU was blocked and had a bad angle. He knew he had a bad angle and confered. U3 with a good angle gave his opinion and the crew decided this was an instance where they could change the call as Moreland was already on 1B when the ball fell in the infield.
|
|
|||
Agreed, for this play. My first post was just a general statement of the rules -- I had no idea what the specific play was or how they corrected it.
|
|
|||
Clearly this pop up was not twelve inches foul.... even on the bad angles.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Did I screw this up? | davelock11 | Baseball | 19 | Sat Mar 23, 2013 09:56am |
Big Screw Up | Welpe | Basketball | 40 | Thu Jan 20, 2011 07:33am |
BU screw-up. | Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. | Baseball | 6 | Sat Jul 05, 2008 01:41pm |
AP screw-up | ref18 | Basketball | 10 | Wed Feb 06, 2008 08:03pm |
Need Help on this screw up | Chess Ref | Basketball | 25 | Tue Oct 24, 2006 04:20pm |