The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 17, 2016, 10:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
The FED case play on this only discusses the pitching hand hanging down.
Same concept I think - starting to come set and stopping.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 18, 2016, 07:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 177
I don't have my casebook with me, but as I recall the case play does say "slight" or "small", so the PU has rules backing for the call. That said, I think 2-3 inches of movement is pretty slight.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 18, 2016, 10:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 1,037
We had a similar discussion at our meeting last night. We were discussing the "gorilla" arm. With the ball in hand, there could be intent if the arm was moving to deceive. But if the ball was in glove, we saw very little deceit there.
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 18, 2016, 10:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by thumpferee View Post
We had a similar discussion at our meeting last night. We were discussing the "gorilla" arm. With the ball in hand, there could be intent if the arm was moving to deceive. But if the ball was in glove, we saw very little deceit there.
Deceit is legal if done within the rules.

FED says you can't swing the arm.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 18, 2016, 11:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
SITUATION 2: While in the set position, F1 has his pitching hand hanging straight down in front of his body, swinging back and forth, as he gets the sign from the catcher. RULING: This is not legal and is an illegal pitch or a balk if there are runners on base. While this “gorilla” stance is legal if the pitching hand is stationary, it is illegal if the arm is swinging back and forth. (6-1-3)

Emphasis added
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 18, 2016, 12:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 1,037
Where does it say anything about the glove, as in the OP?
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 18, 2016, 12:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by thumpferee View Post
Where does it say anything about the glove, as in the OP?
It doesn't. But in my mind as they consider the swing as a start of the motion to get to set and as you have to bring your hands together to get to set then moving the glove is also part of starting the motion.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BALK RULING LAREF Baseball 8 Sun Jul 31, 2005 06:27pm
Balk Ruling Baseball_North Baseball 3 Mon Jun 21, 2004 08:55pm
Balk ruling David B Baseball 8 Tue Jun 08, 2004 11:51am
Balk Ruling. Judgement or Rule? Coach&Blue Baseball 19 Tue Jul 23, 2002 02:52pm
Balk - new PBUC ruling..... Rog Baseball 7 Wed May 15, 2002 11:20am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1